Video Card overheating - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2005, 08:42 PM   #21 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rouen
I put the card in, turn on the comp, my screen flashes, then stays black. What happened?
That's what you get for using eVGA. Did you plug the power connector into the video card?
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 11:29 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

Actually EVGA is really good. Yeah i figured it out, I deleted the ATI drivers and it works fine.

However...

Is it just me, or does Nvidia take up alot of your system memory? I can't run any programs while playing CS 1.6 without having the screen jerk every other second. I can't run AIM, or even WinAmp at the same time. I have 512MB, I only have 25 processes in my Task Manager, using 186/1249M of my Commit Charge, with this window, Steam, AIM, and WinAmp, all running right now. Whats going on here?
__________________

__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 12:04 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I am wondering if it is still a driver conflict. How did you remove the ATI drivers?

Reformat is really the best choice. Using a nVidia should not effect multitasking at all.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 03:46 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

I used a program called Driver Cleaner to remove the ATI drivers. I dunno where my windows disk is, since I only have one of the two disks I need. Things load sooooo much slower. The driver conflict shouldn't just slow the comp down. Its ticking me off I can't use more then two programs at once, and I dont mean games either. It took a full two minutes for Windows to load. It isn't overheating, everything is nice and cool
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 05:49 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

OK. I was on the phone with eVGA, I followed what he told me to do. I put a separate 12V line to my video card. I turned it on, and I saw a huge flame and flash from the window of my case, WHILE ON THE PHONE. I inspected the case. All compoents were ok, except the video card. It was scorched. It happened the moment I turned the power on. I put the old ATI card in, and the computer did indeed still function.

Despite the fact the burn was not covered by the warranty, he confirmed with his supervisor it was OK to RMA the video card. lol

I put my old ATI cards back in the case, but I was still having the same problem. Driver conflicts are not the issue. Its system performance.

I'm starting to think that the low voltage of the old PSU damaged my computer somehow. I dont believe it's the CPU. However, windows loading time takes forevvvver. I'm starting to think its either my memory, or my hard drive. However, given how my hard drive has nothing to do with my video game performance, since it skips at fixed intervels, like every second and a half, ONLY when I'm running a program at the same time as a game, I believe its memory.

Can a knowledgeable person answer this post, and verify what kinds of computer components that are most suspetible to damage from low voltage?
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 06:38 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
Default

Im not too sure but maby its a problem with ur motherboard or Bios settings, i would recomend trying the graphics card in another machine and if it works fine that machine compare the specs and settings of that machine with yours ( voltages etc.)
s0M30n3 is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 06:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
Default

sory i didnt read the next page :P
s0M30n3 is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:58 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

ahhh...

if you pluged the 6800 into the psu and flicked the power switch... then its prolly the PSU that has problems not the card it just fried. perhaps.

what is the PSU that your using now? and what are its specs?

you may have another bad psu on ur hands, that could be ur only problem. maybe.

*Note* how i said maybe.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.