Video Card, need help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 10:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default Video Card, need help.

Ok, I need some help here. I have trouble running FEAR so I have decided to go with an Nvidia Geforce 6600 GT. Dont know which brand yet, but here is the issue I have. Earlier I installed my brothers Geforce 6600 GT to make sure my FEAR demo wasnt bad, it wasnt it ran fine. But I noticed on my desktop when i went to properties, then settings I could only go up to 1024 by 768. Now when my brother has it in his computer, his runs up to 1600 by whatever. Now can someone please tell me why his comp can run it on higher, on the SAME CARD. And btw, we both have 1 gig of ram, i have 2.8 ghz he has 3.0, we both have 160 gb hardrive, both raid. Please tell me whats up.
__________________

Softtissue is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 12:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Your monitor probably cannot support that high of a resolution...
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 01:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Yap, Ive decided that is the issue of all this, now can any of you tell me, how do you measure monitor size? From top to bottom, left to right, or corner to corner?
Softtissue is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 11:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

moniter size in inches in corner to other corner.
nigy is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 12:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

It does it by pixel count...notice 800x600 = 800 wide, 600 high

Monitor size doesn't make a difference, it has to do with base resolution and what the video card can/can't support.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Closed Thread

« Ioerror | bios »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.