Video Card/Monitor port help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2005, 09:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default Video Card/Monitor port help

I recently purchased an ATI All In Wonder 9600XT video card. On ATI's website it says it supports Dual VGA and/or DVI displays.

My card came with a DVI-to-VGA adapter, however, the port on the back of the card does not fit the adapter. It does not seem like a VGA or DVI port because it's much more squareish.

Here's a picture of my card and the unknown port:



I was hoping someone here would be able to identify it so I can go to a place that sells the adapter and buy it (maybe like Circuit City or Radio Shack, places like that)

Someone told me it might be this cable that I am lacking:



Can someone confirm if that is indeed the cable for that port? If so, can someone also tell me the proper name for it so I can look up where to buy one?


Thanks in advance, much appreciated!
__________________

NJDfan1711 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 10:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

That is what you call a breakout cable, just try asking for a breakout cable for a 9600XT

The outputs are all provided via this adapter cable that splits into two VGA outputs, composite and s-video outputs, and audio output cables used to get audio passed through the All-in-Wonder to your sound card. So now you can enjoy the same flexibility of dual-display support offered by ATi's Hydravision using an All-in-Wonder.


Did you get a refurb card?
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well ur gonna definitly need something of that sort. did u get the card oem or something cause it should have came with that exact cable and also should come with a remote and all that ****
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 10:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...102-352&depa=0
the adapter is in da package but i cant find it seperately
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...d%20-%20Retail
i dont know what to tell ya but u can try to call newegg or somehting and see if they have anything they can get there habds on with that exact adapter
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 10:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I did get it on newegg, but not that one. Mine was indeed refurbished like DJ Chris suggested. I bought cables seperately on eBay, but those cables on included the audio/video input/output jacks, along with an S-Video cable and the DVI-VGA adapter. So in essence I am missing the remote (I can live without that for now) and this new cable that I apparently cannot live without.


Can you possibly give me direct links to places that would sell them? I checked eBay again but no dice. =/
NJDfan1711 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 10:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I searched for "breakout cable" on eBay and I got a few results, but most of them have something to do with HDTV, which is not what I want. The TV I plan on using doesn't support High Def.

I found this: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...1&rd=1#picture

Here's a picture of it:



I don't want to buy it yet though because I can't see the other end of it. I know it has the VGA plug and the 5 cords, but it is the OTHER end I want to see. Is this the cable that is square-ish on the other side that would connect into that port on my video card pictured above? Thanks again.
NJDfan1711 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 11:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yea well i would call maybe ati or something and ask for technical support and see if u can get ur hands on one cause they would know where to get it!
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.