Video card issue? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2005, 09:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default Video card issue?

I've had issues with this new computer, ever since I got it. The latest is as follows:

After approximately 4 days of normal use, I quit out of "Morrowind" (3-year-old game) and my screen filled with sprite patterns. I shut down, restarted, and from the moment my POST messages appeared, my screen filled with sprite patterns again. It gets as far as the "Windows XP logo screen" (still completely filled with sprites). Then, about the time the screen usually darkens before opening to the user logon screen, it just goes black. The discs still move, as if loading windows, but nothing on-screen changes. If left long enough, sometimes, it will automaically reboot.

I've tried another monitor (I knew that probably wasn't the issue), but have no way of testing the video card. And since it begins at POST, drivers are not an issue.

Hopefully, you folks can give me some insight as to whether its my video card or MB. Or, maybe, one of the resident Jedi knights has a trick or two to resolve it...

Specs:

ABIT AG8 MB succesfully flashed BIOS to v19 (shipped with 15)
ABIT Radeon X700 pro
P4 3.4 Ghz processor
2 Western Digital Caviar SE 1600 (RAID0)
Samsung 710N 17" LCD monitor
__________________

__________________
Thanos is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Sounds like your card is artifacting, can you check the temperature of it?
__________________

__________________
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 10:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

LOL "Artifact" - that's the word!

I wish I could. I can't do anything, now.

I did check everything in the uGuru utility, before everything went haywire. Everything was WELL below the default warnings. I don't see how the temperature could be an issue; I was only up and running for, maybe, 10 minutes. I was only in Morrowind for less than five, debugging an inventory problem (2 of something when there should only have been 1. It's a mod issue.)
__________________
Thanos is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 10:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Make sure the heatsink is attatched properly, and try reseating it with some artic silver 5
__________________
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 10:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Will do. If it doesn't work, I'll just RMA it.

Thank you for your help.
__________________
Thanos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.