video card help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2003, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Default video card help

Here’s my pathetic story:

I needed to upgrade from my Ge.force2 64 MB video card, so I found a Gainward Gainward FX Power Pack! Ultra/780 XP 256MB Professionalwith 256 MB, at 150 $us. Good deal I thought for my small budget. I thought what a great deal, these 256 MB will at least help me deal with the slowness of modelling with many objects on the screen.

So I installed it and everything seems to be working very fine, I have a HL 7770 17” monitor and with my old card I could get more than 1024*768 resolution on the screen, specially comfortable to work with 3dsMAX.

BUT NOW, I cannot get more than 1024*768, and it is frustrating, I tried to fool the machine and make it work with a standard monitor, but every time I restart, WIN XP pro, detects the monitor and gets me back to those settings again.

So now I have this supposedly good card but I have such a small resolution I cannot work comfortably. Even with all those fancy utilities like Nview and the one for Gainward I still get the small screen

What can I do?

Thanx in advance
__________________

mauarduz is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 12:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

ok, well i only have heard bad things aobut the gainward cards, but that may not be true.

Did you try upgrading the drivers?

Nvidia just released new drivers for the gforce cards a while back. if that is the GPU on the card.

But other then that, hmm, if you get no answers from here, you can always try the tech support from gainward themselves, via their website.

Hope that helps, but i WILL look inotthis tomorrow at school for you.

Ches
Have a great day
__________________

__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

you got owned!
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.