video card help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2005, 06:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

well dells are all crap

with their crappy power supplies, powerful cards might not work in your system

however, something simple to play guild wars probably will work

just google up lavalys everest and download it and mess around and you should see if you have AGP or not


I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 12:04 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to stevenrodz Send a message via Yahoo to stevenrodz

something simple eh like do you have any recommendations but yea all i wana play is guild wars with the card i have now ive played d2 starcraft warcraft3 and counter strike a few times but i used to lag on wc3 but i got more ram and nvr lagged again guild wars i lag up a bit but my colors screw up and whenever i click certain things my comp crashes or the monitor would go out for a few seconds then i get pop up that a hardware device has fail or something and i have to restart comp cause the resolution goes way crappy and colors r screwed up and thats y i think it is the video card and it would make sense cause like i said when i installed guild wars it told me not to play with the card i was using but i do n e wayz but i cant really do long missions without my comp crashing n e other opinions from n e one else?

stevenrodz is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 12:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

Originally posted by stevenrodz
so i need to buy 1 from dell &has to be agp?
It comes down to this...

Does your DELL MOTHERBOARD have an AGP slot? If so, GREAT!!! Get yourself an APG Video Card.

However since DELL is the type of caring bastards that would rather you replace your entire machine as appose to you putting in a new video card, I would have to say that it's very likely that you are going to need to settle for a PCI (NOT PCI Express!!!) Video Card.

The highest chipset that I have seen in PCI to date is a GeForce FX5700LE 128Mb. There is a manufacturer called JANTON that does these types of video cards. There are a few others.

Don't expect your computer store to have these things ready in stock. They are a niche item, and they might need to order it in for you.


Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.