Video Card Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2003, 01:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to soundgarden
Default Video Card Help

Is there ANY POSSIBLE way that I can change my video card on my notebook pc.

Or is there any way that i can increase the video performance of my current video card.
__________________

soundgarden is offline  
Old 08-18-2003, 01:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

It highly depends on your notebook, but most likely there is nothing you can do.. Normally notebooks aren't upgradeable to any large extent. Most of the time the best you can do is memory and maybe hard drive.

It would, however, help to know exactly what notebook you have (Make and Model).

Alexander
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 08-18-2003, 02:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

agreed,..current gaming laptops have upgradable graphics. heres not much you can do with older notebooks.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-18-2003, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to soundgarden
Default

I have a toshba satellite A15.

The video card is a Trident CyberAladdin-T
(Its built into the motherboard so i guess i cant change it)

Is there options i can change to make the video performance better.

I got it as a gift and it doesn't really suite my needs. I work with a lot of graphics and 3D programs (3Ds Max). I also play a lot of games. So I really need a way to increase video performance.

I pretty sure it is on an AGP bus.

Please give me any suggestions as how to increase video performance.

Is there any pc cards i can get to increase its performance.
soundgarden is offline  
Old 08-18-2003, 04:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

well,..one thing you can do is increase the ram.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-18-2003, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to soundgarden
Default

I have 512 mb ram for the system and 64 mb ram for the video card. Isn't that enough?
soundgarden is offline  
Old 08-18-2003, 04:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

i see, thats enough, bro.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 12:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by soundgarden
I have 512 mb ram for the system and 64 mb ram for the video card. Isn't that enough?
That is enough system RAM, but that 64MB of VRAM is shared with your system (Trident vid cards are on mobo shared memory graphics processors). Major slow down. Im sorry to say, but you are stuck with what you have video card wise.
g5orbust is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 04:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

I just took a look at the specs on that system and there is nothing you can do to increase video performance. You can't really even go over 1024x768 resolution without having refresh rate problems. That system isn't made for video intensive applications. It's a workstation PC. Sorry..

Alexander
__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 08:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to soundgarden
Default

goddamit, that sucks

Oh well, i will probably buy a desktop in about a year.

Thanks for the help guys.
__________________

soundgarden is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.