Video Card Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2005, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Unhappy Video Card Help

Hey Gang,

This is my first time using this forum so thank you in advance.

My PSU recently blew out and I had to buy a new one. My old one was a 300 Watt weener and the new one is 450 Watt Rosewell beauty.

After having installed it, whenever I try to run the only game I play (3D intense), my Radion 9200 seems to crap out. The screen goes black and there's nothing I can see so I'm forced to perform a hard reset everytime. I'm thinking that the card is getting too hot because I feel its heatsink and it burns. I have the side of the case open and that seems to help, but it still happens every once-in-a-while.

Could the new PSU be sending too much power to it or something? Is there a way to tone down the power it gets? Is there any other way to control the heating?

Thanks.
__________________

davidemm is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

i dont think having the side case off is a good idea..
__________________

__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 03:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

As long as you keep it dust free, I'd keep the side panel off. Mine is never on.
The PSU really shouldn't have anything to do with it. All you need is better ventilation.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

There's really no way to adjust that PSU. I assume it's set on 115V for north america and not 220V?
It's odd that a new power supply would cause the graphics card to overheat. Temporarily I would try just leaving the side open and sticking a box fan next to the case to keep it cool.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Hey,

It is pretty dust free.

Also, I have NEVER had this problem before the new PSU and I had the side-panel on.
davidemm is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

it might be the old psu that blew it? also, could the 9200 handle the game before the old psu blew?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 03:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Yeah, handled the game fine.
davidemm is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 03:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Maybe his card was getting inadaquete power before or something, lol.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.