Video Card Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2004, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default Video Card Help

Okay so I got my new ATI 9600 Pro. I put it in and boot my computer. I install the driver files on the cd that was given to me and after it was finished installing, it prompted to shut down.

I shut down and when I restart it, nothing is displayed on the monitor...

So I put the old VC in and it does the same thing....but after I put the new card in, it starts up. But then I shut down again, and it does the same thing over again. But I got it back to working again but am afraid to shut down again for fear of it happening again.. Someone please help me!
__________________

__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

It happens every time I try to restart my computer. But here is what I've figured out:

It will begin to run normal if I

1) Take out the ATI 9600 Pro
2) Put the old VC back in
3) put the monitor cord into the card after it has booted
4) shut down
5) Put in the ATI
6) start it up
7) Plug the monitor in

After this process, it starts up again fine. WTF can be wrong?! There aren't any old driver files from my last VC in the device manager and I've installed the drivers on the disk given to me....
__________________

__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Did you completely uninstall the old drivers before you installed the 9600?
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 06:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

I ran Driver Clean 2.7 but wasn't really knowing what I was really doing....lol How can I be for sure I uninstalled them?
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

I hope I haven't screwed myself over....
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 07:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

Does anybody know what could possibly be happening? The activity light on my PC acts like it has frozen and the monitor light turns orange, not the usual green when it is on and working right.....help!
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 07:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

I updated the drivers from the ATI site and it still did the same thing when I restarted and whenever I did the switchin out the card thing I explained earlier, it worked right again......
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 09:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default I need some help bad!

Okay so I got my new ATI 9600 Pro. I put it in and boot my computer. I install the driver files on the cd that was given to me and after it was finished installing, it prompted to shut down.

I shut down and when I restart it, nothing is displayed on the monitor...Does anybody know what could possibly be happening? The activity light on my PC acts like it is frozen and the monitor light turns orange, not the usual green when it is on and working right

But here is what I've figured out:

It will begin to run normal if I

1) Take out the ATI 9600 Pro
2) Put the old VC back in
3) put the monitor cord into the card after it has booted
4) shut down
5) Put in the ATI
6) start it up
7) Plug the monitor in

After this process, it starts up again fine. WTF can be wrong?

I ran Driver Clean 2.7 to see if I could delete the old driver files...but wasn't exactly sure what I did, lol.

I hope I haven't screwed myself over : (
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 10:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Please do not double post.

You're gonna have to be more patient man.

I'm still doing some looking.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 10:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

lol my bad
__________________

__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.