video card for Halo PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2004, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default video card for Halo PC

I've had Halo for a long while now... never played it believe it or not because I didn't have the money or the time to pick out a good/decent videocard. I'm lost when it comes to video cards.... so I was wondering if you guys could help me.

1. I checked newegg.com and zipzoomfly.
The choices are too diverse I don't know what the difference between a geforce or abit or radeon or ati or asus.. etc etc [manufacturer/chipset differences]... is.

2. Also some 128mb cards are more expensive than 256mb... kinda lost on that too.

3. Also what is the effective speed mean?

4. What is the core speed mean?

Sorry for noob questions.... I just want to do some research before I spend the money and buy one so I can get the one that is suitable for me. Asking before buying is something I know from experience, is a must do. =)
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 69
Default

Okay your specs are good to run the latest games, There are some really good cheap cards you can get i.e GeForce 4 that run games like Halo Smoothly if you tone down the settings abit, but if you want a card to last you ages go for the GeForce 6800
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2500+ ( May Overclock to ) 3200+

MSI-KT6V Motherboard

512mb PC3200 RAM

GeForce 4 MX440 ( Uprgading to ) -- I dont know!

40GB Hard Drive
Flying_Vortex is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well, the reason some 128mb chips are more expensive (and sometimes better) than 256mb chips is because it doesn't really matter about the ram, but about the chipset itself, i.e. 128mb nVidia 6800 is better than 256mb ATi 9800

its like processors . . . the fx-53 runs at 2.4GHz, and i've seen Intel celerons go upto 2.8GHz . . . even though the celeron has a higher clock speed, we all know that the fx-53 owns it
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

As koldapu stated, the chipset does make the difference offering different throughput speeds and more pipelines. Not to mention the added support of newer DirectX standards for graphic versatility. Another reason, however, is the type of RAM used on the card. Some use DDR, others DDR2 and even DDR3. This means that the RAM is capable of processing once (DDR), twice (DDR2), or thrice (DDR3) per video card clock cycle. This directly effects the throughput of the card. I would recommend getting a video card such as the GeForce FX line, or a Radeon 9x line if your looking to save money. If your looking for the long hull and want a fast GPU, go for either the ATI X800 or the GeForce 6800 Ultra, these cards go for around 600 dollars but are among the fastest available today. Hope that helps.
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

yes there are two main chipsets that u should look at nvidia and ati.. then you have different manufacturers that utilize those chipsets into vga cards like ati all-in-wonder, saphire, eVGA, gigabyte, asus, and etc.. hope that clears a lil bit of it up for u
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.