Video card, anygood? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2003, 09:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default Video card, anygood?

I got a old TVGA96PCI- 57P video card and driver for 95/98. Is this thing worth putting in a PC? I mean will it work for games and stuff like that or is it just a plain basic card. [no 3D, or such things] Tom W
__________________

__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 12-18-2003, 09:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I am pretty sure that this is a very old card using the Trident tech. and that it only has about 2MBytes of memory. Depends on what games you are playing, but you probably won't get much out of this card. You can get a 32MByte PCI card at tirgerdirect.com for about $30.00. Some good brands on there too.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-18-2003, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

If you plan on playing decade-old games, or it's just for a basic backup PC/server, then go ahead.

Otherwise, even 64 MB PCI cards are fairly cheap and have both the worlds of simplistic 3D gaming and the usual tasking.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 12-18-2003, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Thumbs down

Sorry Dude, Like everybody else said.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 01:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

I put it in the old Packard Bell for the heck of it to see if it was even any good. It works but when I tried my nascar game it said video card has no 3D so I took it out and went back to the built in video. I got the card out of a junk old PC so I have nothing in it eccept a little time to see if it still worked. Its kinda fun playing with things like that when I am bored, LOL. TomW
__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 02:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

i would just buy a really cheap PCI card to replace it, anything is gonna be better than that
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.