Video card AGP rate settings. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2004, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Question Video card AGP rate settings.

My system specs:

Motherboard: Asus A7V8X-X (bios v.1010)
Processor Manufacturer: AMD
Processor Type: Athlon XP
Processor Speed: 2500+ / 1.83 Ghz
Operating System / Service Pack: Win2000 Pro with SP4
System RAM: 512mb Kingston PC2700 DDR
Video Card Manufacturer: Asus (Nvidia)
Video Card Model: Geforce4 Ti4200 8x AGP
Video Card RAM: 128mb DDR
Video Card Driver Version: 56.72

In my video cards settings under AGP configuration, it says that the "Max AGP rate" for the OS is 2x!? yet the GPU, chipset, and optimal settings all say 8x? Am I correct to think that this is unusual or screwed up?? could this be why I am experiencing lock ups when playing games that use 3D acceleration?? Is this preventing my video card from running at 8x??

Any info that can be provided is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
__________________

Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

AGP 8x needs to be enabled in your BIOS setup. Also, install or update your VIA 4-in-1 drivers if you haven't done so. (lock ups can also be resolved this way)

If the card still defaults to 2x, you can force AGP 8x with RivaTuner.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 07:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

RivaTuner can force AGP 8x?

Does this apply for ATI cards also?
Chubz is offline  
Old 05-11-2004, 07:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

I am already using the latest 4in1 drivers and the Bios says its in 8x compatibility mode(though its grayed out and can't be modified anyway).

How can I actually tell what speed my card is running at???
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.