Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2002, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5
Default Video Card

I recently purchased a Radeon 7000 64mb PCI video card.
Currently i have 384mb of SDRAM. After installing the card i still have 384mb, should i not have 448mb? The video adapter says its DDR SGRAM/SDRAM.

Thanks for the help
__________________

peshkipo is offline  
Old 07-26-2002, 08:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

The memory on your video card is not added to your system memory.. it is used only by your video card for textures and such...
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 07-26-2002, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,212
Default

And your computer will show your video card and its ram at bios when you start up.

Cheers

BTW: þÄ®âÐÖx you sure do post alot
Chopper is offline  
Old 07-26-2002, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

heh.. yeah, i've posted like 23 times today... i've had a bit of a boring day at work
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 07-26-2002, 08:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Video cards (Most anyway) have their own dedicated RAM onboard.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 07-27-2002, 01:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by þÄ®âÐÖx
heh.. yeah, i've posted like 23 times today... i've had a bit of a boring day at work
I wish we had more forum posters like you

Cheers
Chopper is offline  
Old 07-27-2002, 09:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
All Seeing Eye
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 72
Default

Where, on the computer ofcourse, I can see my video card memory size???
azury is offline  
Old 07-27-2002, 01:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by azury
Where, on the computer ofcourse, I can see my video card memory size???
Right click your desktop, (takes you to Display properties) > Settings tab > Advanced > Adapter tab. Usually on Windows XP and 2K systems, the RAM amount will always show up there. If not, another way to check is DirectX properties (C:\Program Files\DirectX\dxdiag.exe) > Display tab.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 07-27-2002, 08:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
All Seeing Eye
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 72
Default

You know, you could simply say to do start ->run->dxdiag..
never mind, I figured this out... thought there is a more accurate way...
thanks G4ce
azury is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 10:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Display>Settings>Advanced>Radeon 7000

Under there, there is a whole summary of your card. Company, processor, bios ver, etc...
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.