Which video card? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2005, 10:25 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

AHHH!!! Wrong liink!! Im so sorry!!!
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:33 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xAnDyCx
the 32 bit is 64 MB (DDR SDRAM)
the 64 bit is 128MB (DDR SDRAM)
and no the 64bit is not server only

But i was wrong the one hes linked to is only 32 bit
Yeah well someone said "64 bit PCI"

That is refering to the interface to the rest of the computer, yeah it has 64bit memory but that doesnt make it "64 bit PCI"
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

There are two types of PCI. PCI 32 bit and PCI 64 bit. PCI 32 bit runs at 33Mhz and PCI 64 bit runs at 66MHz. My Chipstets allow it to run at 33MHz. So I need a PCI 32 bit PCI Video Card. Any higher than 64 MB are mostly 64 bit PCI. And are these cards any good to run Need For Speed Underground 2 and support DirectX 9.0C? My integrated graphics are so crappy, the game won't let me install it. I play the game on my laptop[yes i know, it's sad]. The laptop has an ATI 7500 Radeon Mobile. And I heard ATI 7500 and newer supports Direct 3D, not older ones. Is it true?

Edit: Don't tell me to get anything over then 64 MB, cause they're all 64 bit PCI.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 04:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

you can slap a 128mb PCI video card in there, since they are 32-bit, very few video cards were produced for the 64-bit PCI Bus compared to the 32-bit

you are all seeming to get it confused, there is the standard PCI Bus which is 32-bit, then the PCI-X bus (seem on server motherboards) which is 64-bit.

if a video card is 64-bit, 128-bit, or 256-bit, its the memory interface within the card itself, so basically desiboi, you can use any PCI video card you will find on that site.
__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 06:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Ohhhhh, even 256 MB ones? Sorry that I'm so dumb. lol. I'm a newb.
So, then which one from these?

http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=201362

or

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...1564&CatId=697

Thanks in advance
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I'd recommend something more like this:
http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...TT=Video+Cards
or: http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...TT=Video+Cards

Too many people make the mistake of thinking that having 256mb on a card makes it alot better. In reality, it doesn't. Even the most demanding games today run perfectly at max settings on my 128mb 6600gt. Now you're looking to buy a PCI card, so you won't be able to get that kind of performance, but you still don't need 256mb.
Freeman420 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

I live in Canada. In the Great WestCoast. lol.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 04:21 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

I think this one is sufficient
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...136927&CatId=0
don't expect supreme performance though, its still PCI
__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:56 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Actually, I am going to expect alot, compared to my intregrated graphics, lol. Isn't the nVidia one faster?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 12:59 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

yeah actually I would go with the PNY Geforce FX 5500

if you can afford to get that one its the best choice, apparently that site listed inaccurate specs,
here are the actual specs:
http://www.pny.com/products/verto/ma...am/5500pci.asp

this would also provide better DirectX 9 support
The site there even shows a comparison ebtween it and the integrated Intel "Exreme" Graphics 2
__________________

__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.