video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2005, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default video card

i have a dell demension desktop 3000. and i've heard that the video cards are the reason for not being able to play games. would a new nvida video card fix the problem.?

thanks
__________________

jaymem is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

it would, but because you have bought a dell im 99% sure your graphics chip will be on your motherboard, therefore u cant just unplug it and put a better on it. instead ul have to stick with a pci graphics card. I think the highest ones of these there is is a fx5200 or radeon 9200. both cards are not meant for gamin by any means.

That is one of the main reasons most people on here hate dell computers.

sorry cant be more help mate
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

get a new computer..de11sucks *** period

you probably don't have enough ram, and your psu probably can't even handle a new gfx card
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
get a new computer..de11sucks *** period

you probably don't have enough ram, and your psu probably can't even handle a new gfx card
#1: Your PSU cant handle it most likely.

#2: You expect to replace your PSU, put a non dell PSU in and it will fry your PC.

#3: You want a new mobo and PSU? Too bad a new mobo wont fit your case.

#4: Warranty? Gone as soon as you open your case up.

Theirs a chance you can put a graphics card in, an older lower power like a 9200 or something, but their not very powerful at all.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 08:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Here's a link to the PCI cards available on NewEgg:
http://tinyurl.com/86gw2

Even if you can only use a PCI graphics card, it will be better than nothing. Make the best with what you've got... unless you want to spring for a new system. In that case, there's about 300 people on here who can give you advice.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 12:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Default Re: Bash it better

I know Dell hasn't had the best rep for gamers in the past, but I just got my XPS Desktop a few days ago. For those of us who don't have the time to put a machine together working 60 hrs + a week.
Check it out: http://www1.us.dell.com/content/prod...waretab#tabtop

Having the XPS laptop one thing led to another...
__________________

__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR Expert
AMD Opteron 185
OCZ Platinum 2GB(2 X 1GB) 3 3 2 8
EVGA 7900 GTX
OCZ Powerstream 600 Watt
LiteOn DVD Burner 16X w/Lightscribe
2-74GB Raptors (RAID)
WD 150GB Raptor
Mitsumi 1.44 Floppy
ATI TV Wonder Elite
Thermaltake Tai-Chi W/Built-in H2O (GPU & Chipset)
CoolIT Systems Freezone CPU Cooler
caveman4810 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.