Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2004, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Default Video Card

Hey i got an emachine T3025 and wanna upgrade my video card im willing to spend $150 -200 any help?

SIK is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE

Look into a ATI 9800 pro. Its in that price range and a great value. Or on the nvida side i elive the 6600 is in that price range. Just make sure you have a psu that can handle the new card.

Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Also, many store bought computers don't have an AGP slot (they don't like you upgrading from the integrated crap). Make sure your mobo has an AGP slot. And also, like the guy above me said, make sure you have at least a 300W PSU if you are looking at a 9800 Pro. Companies like to put little weak PSUs in the computers to once again stop people from upgrading them. My old HP has a 150W PSU!!
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543

Yeah follow their advice, if you dont have an AGP slot the I think you are pretty much stuck...
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5

No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7

Alright i got an AGP slot but do i have to worry about if its 2x 4x or 8x?
SIK is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 05:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424

hmm.. i guess emachines are good and trust worthy then i bought one in store and they gave me a 300WATT psu with agp slot.

raiden_nrl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.