video card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2004, 05:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Question video card?

wat happens wen u put 2 video cards on a computer?
does it boost performence?2
__________________

__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
ICS
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 229
Send a message via AIM to ICS
Default

yes, it boosts the gfx. You obviously need a compatible motherboard and two of the same video cards, like dual channel. One video card does the top half, and the other does the bottom. Just search for it on google. Alienware now makes these
__________________

__________________
AMD 64-Bit 3000+ @ 2.4 skt939
1GB PDR Patriot PC4200 Ram @ DDR535 Dual Channel
*STOCK CPU FAN* + *STOCK VOCORE*
ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe
X2 Chaintech 6600GT SLI (550/1200)
WD Raptor EP (4.5ms seek)
NEC Dual Format DVD-RW +/-
Thermaltake Tsunami
OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
ICS is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
ICS
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 229
Send a message via AIM to ICS
Default Re: video card?

Quote:
Originally posted by gizmo90
wat happens wen u put 2 video cards on a computer?
does it boost performence?2
you cannot do this on your computer
__________________
AMD 64-Bit 3000+ @ 2.4 skt939
1GB PDR Patriot PC4200 Ram @ DDR535 Dual Channel
*STOCK CPU FAN* + *STOCK VOCORE*
ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe
X2 Chaintech 6600GT SLI (550/1200)
WD Raptor EP (4.5ms seek)
NEC Dual Format DVD-RW +/-
Thermaltake Tsunami
OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
ICS is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 05:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Default

i know
__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 06:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

It would be cheaper and much more simple to get like a 6800 gt or what ever, but y dual channel graphic cards.. Thats asking to much, hehe
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 06:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by U-Toast
It would be cheaper and much more simple to get like a 6800 gt or what ever, but y dual channel graphic cards.. Thats asking to much, hehe
yep, or a x800, cheaper!
Vortexkrow is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Default

Yeah! Id lov 2 get a x800 Pricy
__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 06:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

not every graphic card is capable of doing that, 6800 chipset did came with this type of configuration, BUT, with the bridge integration between cards, and as for nVidia technology, it only distributes screen processing into 2 equal parts (could be different as well), unlike others manufacturers, though equal distribution of the screen, but not completed half.

as if you are thinking of something like that, then u have to get mobo with 2 graphic slots and of course in case of nVidia 6800 series, a good 650W+ PSU
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 07:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

You'll also have the annoying presence of a line seperating the two halfs of the screen that each card renders Recent technologies by Nvidia and Alienware have done away with such a problem, but those have yet to come to the market and when they do will be HUGELY impractical for 99% of us
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 07:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Merlin
You'll also have the annoying presence of a line seperating the two halfs of the screen that each card renders Recent technologies by Nvidia and Alienware have done away with such a problem, but those have yet to come to the market and when they do will be HUGELY impractical for 99% of us
Have you actually tried dual graphic cards?
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.