Video card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2004, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to Tetsusaiga
Default Video card?

Can a computer run without a video card, or is it nesisary?
what kind of things wouldnt you be able to run? (cousin's buying a comp, doesnt do any gaming, and wants to save $34)


if he selects no video card on cyberpowerinc.com will it be onboard video?

thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
Specs:
P4 3.2ghz @ 3864mhz
1024mb RAM pc2700
2x 120gb maxtor HD
Asus P4P800-S
Albatron nVIDIA GeForce 6800 256mb
19” SENergy 981 TFT LCD (got it for $500 from my dad\'s work, RETAIL: $880:cool: )
Altec Lansing 5.1 speakers
MOBO upgrade coming soon
Dim Tetsusaiga as Integer
Tetsusaiga is offline  
Old 04-04-2004, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

It really depends on the motherboard. A lot of motherboards come with onboard graphics in which case he would not need to buy a graphics card, but some do not have onboard like my last motherboard (ecs k7s5a). Just check the mobo online or post what it is on the message board to see if it has onboard or not.
__________________

__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 04-04-2004, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 434
Default

you can save the 35 bux and buy a video card online. I recommend doing this anyway. In my expierience i ave never had any luck with onboard.
__________________
CCNA, CCNP, A+, N+.
________________
I agrue with people.|
--------------------------
digital_darknes is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 09:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

you have to have a graphics card, without it there would be nothing to hook you monitor up to. You want to know if you need an add-on card or can he use onboard. Yes you can use onboard graphic and save some money (make sure it has onboard graphics. I recomend the NForce2 onboard, it's the best) Just selecting no video may not give him onboard, they might just ship it without a video card. The options there cuz some people already have a nice video card they want to put in the comp. Make sure the Mobo in the computer he's buying has onboard video.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.