Video Card for 1.6 GhZ P4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2004, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default Video Card for 1.6 GhZ P4

Hey all,

I want to get my rig ready for Half-Life 2. Obviously my rig is outdated and won't be able to use a lot of Half Life 2's fetures, but would a new graphics card help?

Here's my setup:

1.6 GhZ Pentium 4
512 MB Corsair RAM
GeForce4 MX 64MB Ram

Would a video card be worth it? Or would the processor just bottleneck it? I was thinking of buying this: http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...8888&CatId=935

Suggestions? Comments?
__________________

Moses08 is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

I'd say go with a Radeon 9800 Pro or XT. I gather they have the edge over the GeForce FX series. Also another 512 megs of ram probably wouldn't hurt...

EDIT: Before anyone else asks, what motherboard do you have?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Yes a new vid card will DEFINATLEY help.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default

I have an Asus, it was pretty good for its time but that's game and passed.
Moses08 is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 10:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

9800pro and a 2.8 800mhz FSB P4 would do you very very well in HL2


probably 100+fps

you may need a new Mobo for the new processor and if your current Motherboard is AGP4X you will need to replace is for the 9800pro as well or it'll run half crippled.

512 ram should be sufficient but if you want a 512 stick is only like 80 bucks


9800pro - 250$
512MB ram - 80$
new mobo 80$
new proc. ~170$

playing HL2 with over 100fps - priceless


(sorry had to do it)

that totals to about 600$ but youd be set for a couple years at least and you could always OC that 2.8 to 3.2 or 3.4 pretty easily
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 09:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

I love how people ask about a single simple upgrade and people start chaining an upgrade process together for them. Not trying to be an *******, but since he said he was considering buying a $137 video card to help play HL2, I doubt he had spending $600 in mind...ya kno? But then again, you never know...:P

I just had to say something since I see this happening like EVERY day.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 02:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Thanks grego.

I can't afford more than a graphics card, period. What I'm asking is if I should bother upgrading my graphics card, since my processor will probaly bottleneck it anyway. I'm not going to go above $150 CDN for my graphics cards, because that's all I can afford. Will the new graphics card allow me to play HL2 on medium settings?
Moses08 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Like I stated above, YES it will help.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default

the 9800 pro will do you good, I had a 9700 pro and it worked pretty good on Counter-strike: source, which uses the Half-Life 2 engine, on medium settings. I got about 60-80 fps. However, high settings is a different story. Many will agree with me that, the 9800 pro gives you the bang for the buck.
__________________
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lian-Li G70B
Core 2 Duo E6400@3.3ghz
2GB Mushkin Redline XP-8000
150GB Raptor
Hitachi 160GB Desktar
NEC 3520A
eVGA 7900GT Signature Series
Dell 2007FP WUXGA
Wall7486 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

yes but seriously dude, i would just set them at low settings so u dont get lag. becuase even if u do run them at medium it will be choppy and frames wont be that good.
__________________

__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.