Via Sucks! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2005, 06:55 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheComputerPro
could it be my ram, i have pc-2700 1024 gb ram
That is a hell of a lot of ram. I think you have too much and that is what is slowing you down. I would take out 1023gb of it and just leave 1gb and you should be good.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 06:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Bpowa
Default

I have the same set up with the 9600xt and the Via chipset, and I also get problems, mostly game crashes that end up in total system crashes, but i dont use the catylst drivers, just the stock diamond driver. But I still get some crashes....
__________________

Bpowa is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 07:12 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
That is a hell of a lot of ram. I think you have too much and that is what is slowing you down. I would take out 1023gb of it and just leave 1gb and you should be good.
LMAO nice one mate.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.4Ghz \"Winchester\" 939 pin
Asus A8V Deluxe rev 2.0 Bios 1010.003
2x 512 3200 Corsair Twin XMS Dual Channel
120GB 7200rpm Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 2MB cache
160GB 7200rpm Seagate Barracuda SATA 8MB Cache Configured for RAID 0+1
Chaintec Geforce 6800 @ 411Mhz Core, 877 Mhz memory
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
MSI DVD ROM
MSI CD-RW
450Watt PSU
17inch Samsung monitor
Rayne is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 10:10 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Default

ROFL ok you got me, but help me with the vid!!!!
TheComputerPro is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 03:28 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Default

ok so can all of you smart computer geeks help me, i need to fix my game
TheComputerPro is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 03:57 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Call us geeks and then expect us to help you. Good idea Einstein.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 04:01 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Default

lol sorry. I thought you computer experts liked being called geeks lol....i saw geek.com someday before and i thought you people thought geek was cool.
TheComputerPro is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 04:07 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You know, it's really not a very good idea to waste our time by posting an "elaborate" joke, then expect the same people to take your other problems legitimately.

The 9600XT is getting old now, it's a cutoff card in my opinion now, you can't expect good results with a card of its calibre. That is the problem. I'll look around for any information on Via chips conflicting with ATi cards, but I've never heard anything of the like before, and I don't see how a chipset could affect graphics performance that much.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:14 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
Call us geeks and then expect us to help you. Good idea Einstein.
Whats wrong with being a geek? As i see it, we have an advantage over the rest of the world.

I'm afraid to play america's army.. Next then you know i'll be brainwashed and joining the marines.

You're expecting too much out of the radeon card. Nvidia has surpassed ati chipsets in speed as of recent. If you have your settings to max performance (no AA, no VS, etc) and have your card set to render like 300 frames ahead (im not sure if catylst has this option). Other than that, make sure you have enough power to your system. If it still doesnt work, go buy a 6600gt.


EDIT: also, the stereotypical geek isnt at all what a geek truly is. Also, VIA truly does suck.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:21 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Next then you know i'll be brainwashed and joining the marines.
No....just the army it's americas ARMY.....marines and army men would throw down in a heart beat to prove who's a better soldier. They wouldn't make a game based on being the army to brainwash you into the marines lol

The airforce thinks their hot crap though, they came in when I was in highschool and the lady was bragging about how they don't call it a mess hall or cafeteria but something like 'A Food depository centralized meeting apparatus" or somethign weird like that....yeah like calling the CAFETERIA something different wouldn't sway my opinion lol
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.