vga temps - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2004, 11:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OIDanTheManIO
i have heard of vga fans, but not replacement heatsinks...
You bet they have VGA heatsinks! I have one the size of my card. Literally.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 12:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah the new cards are already one giant heatsink, but we've discussed that before. 104F/40C is good, but that's at IDLE or LOAD cause you want to know the how high your current loaded GPU temps are so that you know how much higher they'll go.

Quote:
You bet they have VGA heatsinks! I have one the size of my card. Literally.
Sho' do.......I just saw those things a few months ago and I was thinking 'holy crap'
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 12:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

"Holy Crap" is right! I have overclocked the **** out of my GPU, and with this size heatsink and method of cooling - The temperature stays very low!
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 12:01 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

My card stays at a constant 60C to 62C when Im not doing anything demanding.
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 01:46 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

so that arctic cooling VGA Silencer works that good eh Agex? I got a Geforce2MX 32mb with no heatsink on it at all lol. I jerry rigged one on there one time and read a 3 year old review when the geforce2 ti was top of the line lol. 'HOLY CRAP WE GOT OUR CORE SPEED UP TO 200MHZ!' heh....standard is 175MHz Core, 166 memory. Got mine up toooooo 220Core and 110memory I believe but in soldier of fortune 2 I would see rainbow spots here and there..so I backed it down a bit...no real difference though so I took the OC settings off of it..Just wanted to tinker =P Although if Chaintech winds up sending me another FX5700 maybe I'll use that VGA cooler...think my last overheated...but I didn't have case cooling and the understanding behind it like I do now.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 01:57 AM   #16 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

The Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer works with perfection!
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 02:04 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
The Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer works with perfection
::mr. Burns style:: .......excellent......
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 02:33 AM   #18 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

lol
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 03:30 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

awww man just noticed though its only for ATI models mainly psht....shoulda known!! Says its only compatible for GeForce3 Ti lol.....so I guess I'd have to go with that thermaltake thats also $20 more =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 04:01 AM   #20 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Yeah... nVidia is a little less user friendly.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.