VGA to SVIDEO Cable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2004, 12:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
Default VGA to SVIDEO Cable

Hi

I am trying to output to my TV using my laptop. The problem is that I only have VGA out on my laptop. I wanted a cheap solution so I tried using a VGA to SVIDEO cable using this cable on ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...150804185&rd=1

I tried using the standard rca jack and also the svideo jack. My laptop does not have many features in the "display" link in the control panel. I use the fn + f4 to output to my monitor and have been trying to do it with the cable while it is attached to my TV. However when I do it all that happens is the tv flashes in black and white for a bit and I can barely see the text for about 2 seconds, after that the tv goes blank and my laptop screen stays on. I don't know what I am doing wrong any ideas? I wanted a cheap solution

I have tried doing it with the tv plugged in while booting up the pc as well as plugging it in after the computer has started no difference.
__________________

woodyear99 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 04:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
tbc
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Did you try to adjust the screen refresh rate on the laptop
__________________

__________________
AMD 2500+ M (@Stock)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Kingston 512mb DDR400 * 2
ATI 9600XT AIW
Vantec Aeroflow
tbc is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 05:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

refresh rate on a laptop?

what are you smoking?

laptops have lcd's so they have "response timing" which, - corect my if im wrong - i dont think can be changed up or down
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 10:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Oh I thought these cables allowed you to use the VGA out with a TV...
woodyear99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.