Vga silencer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2004, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Joe
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 41
Question Vga silencer

I have a radeon 9800 pro, I just ordered an arctic silencer for it and it should be here in a few days. I was wondering what clocks were you people who have it able to get?
__________________

__________________
Intel(R)® Pentium(R)® 4 Processor 2.80 GHz Overclocked to 3.63 GHz
DirectX Version: 9.0c
RADEON® 9800 PRO 128MB(with Arctic Cool VGA Silencer) (Driver 6.14.10.6458) - Overclocked to: 450 MHz / 372 MHz
Total Physical Memory: 768 MB PC3200
Thermaltake XaserIII case
Mobo: ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
FSB: 700 MHz Real: 175 MHz (QDR)
3DMark03- 6832
Joe is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

dunno stock cooling i can overclock to about 400 but i just ordered this so well se when it gets here today aprently thermatake says i can safely oc to 435MHZ
__________________

__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

no way. after about 411Mhz you start seeing artifacts. you cant make it much past this (core) without having really bad effects during games.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Joe
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sithspawn
no way. after about 411Mhz you start seeing artifacts. you cant make it much past this (core) without having really bad effects during games.
It all depends on cooling my friend and how much you OC your ram to if you use ati tool's auto clock thing.
__________________
Intel(R)® Pentium(R)® 4 Processor 2.80 GHz Overclocked to 3.63 GHz
DirectX Version: 9.0c
RADEON® 9800 PRO 128MB(with Arctic Cool VGA Silencer) (Driver 6.14.10.6458) - Overclocked to: 450 MHz / 372 MHz
Total Physical Memory: 768 MB PC3200
Thermaltake XaserIII case
Mobo: ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
FSB: 700 MHz Real: 175 MHz (QDR)
3DMark03- 6832
Joe is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

definately not....you can cool it with liquid nitrogen if you want, but there is definately a limit to how high a clock can go before whats known as 'artifacts' appear on your screen. You watch, if you use ATi tool that is, it will get up to about 400-410 and stop because it will detect artifacts. I know this cause i have a Radeon 9800 Pro, with a watercooler block hooked up to it (best cooling solution available) and i can only get it up to 414Mhz core and 356Mhz mem before it starts detecting artifacts.

Now obviously i could keep manually overclocking it to anything i want (reasonable) and my water cooler would keep it cool. But the thing is, whats the point in having a 450Mhz core and 400Mhz mem if you cant see anything on your screen cause of all the crappy artifacts?????
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 09:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

damn sorry i didnt post the link http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-013&depa=0
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 09:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

and uh not true peep this faq

http://www.ocfaq.com/reviews/Thermaltake/Giant3/
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 10:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Watercooling isn't the best cooling solution.

But sithspawn is right, there is a architecture limit.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.