very strange problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2005, 12:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default very strange problem...

has anyone ever seen this problem? my computer screen will freeze for about 5-10 seconds and then flash to a black screen and then come back to normal. the main window i had in focus will ussually be graphically messed up. for example: only the icons show up. I have to move it around to refresh it back to normal. i assumed it was a graphics card problem so i got a new graphics card for it but i stll get the same error. based on this i have a feeling it might be the mobo but i dont want to buy anything else until i know what the problem is. by the way, it crashed the computer if i am in a full screen game when this happens.

abit kr7a raid
amd athlon xp 1600+
OCZ 256 ram
2 40 gig HD in raid
NEW graphics card: msi geforce fx 6200
OLD graphics card: gainward geforce4 ti-4200 golden sample

aceman118 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 12:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955

Sounds more like a problem in your OS (which I assume is Windows). Possibly a bad/corrupted file?

Hopefully someone a little more savvy with what could be belly-flopping you will wander through...


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946

Try running scandisk....
P4 3.2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 02:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

you can try repairing windows, it replaces all the os files without messing up ur apps and documents. google repairing windows for info on how to do so. (if ur os is windows, that is...)
joshd is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 02:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12

hmm, i thought i had reformated after this started happening but looking through my computer it looks like i have some VERY old stuff on here so i think you guys may be right. ill try it and let you know.

thanks for the help.
aceman118 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12

Well, I tried reformating and the same problem happend. I also tried swapping out memory with memory i know to be good memory. Neither fixed the problem. Would it be safe to assume something is wrong with my motherboard?
aceman118 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 08:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

^Possibly. You need to narrow it down a bit more. Do you have any cards on the PCI bus? front usb connected? check PSU?
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 10:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12

Well, I have a network card and a sound card. I wouldn't have a clue how those would cause the video problems I am having but stranger things have happend. I will test it out without the cards in the computer. Thanks for the input.
aceman118 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 10:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 37

I had this problem happen before.
techgeek7 is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 12:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

they can cause problems with irq's and power etc. how long have you had this problem? both installs of windows were from the same disc?

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you don’t think the guitar is cool, then you’re stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.