VERY bizzare issue with CPU alias - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2005, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Exclamation VERY bizzare issue with CPU alias

Right, I downloaded the AMD 64 driver from here (third one down): http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._9706,00.html, showed up in CPU-Z and Everest as a Newcastle core. Since then I formatted my HD... I re-installed the same driver, and it now shows up as a ClawHammer. WTF?

Unless it's a newer version of the driver which fixes some weird bug in the older version, which btw is probably the case as I failed to take note of the version I first used, I'm a little bit confused here... Can someone give me any thoughts? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Try getting an updated version of CPU-Z
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

What about Everest?

Both programs are up to date anyway, but I'll try re-installing them...

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DoomUK
What about Everest?

Both programs are up to date anyway, but I'll try re-installing them...

I don't know too much about AMD cpu's and the cores. But I do know that you need up-to-date software for up-to-date hardware. I got a CPU that told me it was one thing, and when I updated the software it came back with the right core as it was supposed to.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

I'll be honest here: When I bought my 3500+ I had no idea what core it was... :sigh: I know I know, shame on me

When I first installed CPU-Z, it read as a Newcastle so that is what I assumed it was. Is there even such a thing as a 3500+ ClawHammer lol?

Someone help! Please!
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 07:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Scrap it. It's a Clawhammer. I looked at the CPU's package, and printed on it is the following:-

ADA3500DEP4AS
CAA2C 0506BPMW
1203814B5028S

Now the last two letters of the first line indicate the core alias, right?

AS=Clawhammer
AW=Newcastle
BI=Winchester
BN=San Diego...

Correct me if I'm completely wrong on any of this btw....


So, I guess I'm sorted
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 08:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

rely on cpu-z
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.