Venice 3000 enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2005, 04:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to no_Wedge
Arrow Venice 3000 enough?

would this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537

be enough to run battlefield 2 smoothly, after overclocking a little? I'll have a 6800gt and dfi lanparty
__________________

no_Wedge is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

everyone seem to like the 3200 more its alot better as far for OCing and performance.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Get the 3200. And if you can, try and get the 3700+ San Diego.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

thats a big jump in price though, from a 3000+ venice to a 3700+ san diego
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Yes it is enough with the DFI-Lan party. Get some ram to run at 2-2-2-5 and use a divider to bump up your clockspeed.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dhw200
thats a big jump in price though, from a 3000+ venice to a 3700+ san diego
I said if he could. If not, get the 3200+ Venice.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

id say just get 3000 and then oc with the dfi lanparty u can prolly oc the crap wit good cooling!!!
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The 3000+ is enough and in many cases will overclock as well if not better than the 3200+, they're all the same chip just speedbinned for specifics, and will generally have about the same cap at around 3GHz depending on your other hardware.

Quote:
Yes it is enough with the DFI-Lan party. Get some ram to run at 2-2-2-5 and use a divider to bump up your clockspeed.
If you're buying TCCD/C/5s with PCBs or BH-5 chips you shouldn't need a divider until about 260MHz or higher.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 05:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to no_Wedge
Default

ok, i will be using either a:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103157

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103157

which one do you think? also what RAM do you recommend?
no_Wedge is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 08:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Better timings with a divider is better than looser timings with no divider isn't it?
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.