Venice; 15 seconds of fame up? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 07:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

That's one thing that has suprisly stood at a near standstill compared to most everything else, cache. The only really big jump was from the L2 cache being intergrated directly into the chip rather than on the board.

Compared to how much memory and hard drive space has expanded, cache size really hasn't increased much at all. I mean, L1 and L2 cache is freaking lightning fast and I dunno how they go about increasing it, and it must be tough, it's just kinda weird how some technology just BOOMS and some stuff crawls at a snail pace.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 07:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Rocket Science?
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara

Compared to how much memory and hard drive space has expanded, cache size really hasn't increased much at all. I mean, L1 and L2 cache is freaking lightning fast and I dunno how they go about increasing it, and it must be tough, it's just kinda weird how some technology just BOOMS and some stuff crawls at a snail pace.
practicality and design issues/goals, cache size is important when doing lots of the same computations repeatedly

AMD is popular with gamers for a couple reasons, bang for your $$ obviously, but the reasoning behind it is quite simple, they(AMD) addressed and did something about the CPU architecture and it happened to help out gamers, they dealt with memory bandwidth issue and really pumped up floating point math ops, which benefit many many games directly, but they didnt make the on die caches very big.They also somewhat pragmatically left hyperthreading alone and focused on what they could do to make a better CPU for desktop users, Intel OTOH kept chugging along doing what theyve always done and following the roadmap they setup years ago.

All the architectures are nearly at their speed limits and heat limits now, notice the RISC architecture hasnt gotten much faster has it?
horndude is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Nah I don't, EXPLAIN YOURSELF! muahahahaha

Yeah I gotcha lol, but still that cache makes a surprising difference in a lot of things.........course if they made a jump to like 32mb L2 cache I bet you'd notice a huge difference lol

32mb on die cache would be freakin huge, effective, but HUGE, a CPU would probably be 4 times bigger, thats one big silicon chip, can you imagine a CPU about 4-6" square?
horndude is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by horndude
32mb on die cache would be freakin huge, effective, but HUGE, a CPU would probably be 4 times bigger, thats one big silicon chip, can you imagine a CPU about 4-6" square?
Yeah, seems to be the size of a dual core preschott :P jk
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Yeah, seems to be the size of a dual core preschott :P jk
christ, u got me thinking about that. a duel core prescott would run so hot it would start a fire. there is only one way to deal with that. remove the case, and get a big, window sized fan. Roll a paper cone and tape it to the fan, with the point only an inch away from the CPU. trun on the fan. guaranteed cool...
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.