VCR and Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2004, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Default VCR and Computer

I would like to connect a VCR to my computer in order to record VHS tapes to DVD's

Is there a way to do this? What kind of cables/hardware would I need?
__________________

bgh10788 is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 02:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

You would need a video capture card of some sorts.. Not sure what any of the good brands are so you're on your own there.
Maybe check out www.pricewatch.com for some capture cards and compare them.
__________________

xenosoul is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 02:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

There is a thing called Dazzle thats supposed to convert analog to digital. my dad uses it for im not sure what but he says it works great.
I however have never used it, i thought it would be messy but he does somethin with it apparently, maybe ill find out.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to s0me0ne Send a message via Yahoo to s0me0ne
Default

ati all in wounder (tv capture card. oldie but a goodie)
__________________
Anal nerd who can\'t spell.
s0me0ne is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by s0me0ne
ati all in wounder (tv capture card. oldie but a goodie)
I agree! I have yet to see anything compress movies better than a ATI AIW. I even had the old AIW Radeon with 32MB DDR and it did awesome!lol.. I am currently running this little jaz though and it also does good! It comes with a remote too which is cool..you can hook up anything VCR, DVD, cam corder etc..

http://www.adstech.com/products/USBA...?pid=USBAV-704
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 09:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

My winfast tv tuner has video capture abilities. It also has the ability to record and watch it. Its a great price for all of it and comes with great software. Look for it on newegg for under 50US.

Is it easy and possible to take a video file on my pc and record it to a vhs in a vcr?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 11:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AND_YOU_ARE

Is it easy and possible to take a video file on my pc and record it to a vhs in a vcr?
It's quite simple if you have the right program. The only one that I know of (not that there couldn't be 15 others) is Pinnacle Studio 9. It's a video editing app that has the option to output your project to VHS. It should be pretty easy to get the file into a form that the program will accept. From there, the program just transcodes it to VHS compatible and prompts you to hit play and record. I've had to use it a few times when my dvd burner was acting up. Let me know if you need any more help with that.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 11:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

why would it matter what format its going to the vcr? Its just going out of the card and being recorded off of to the vhs, right?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 11:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Ya know, I'm not really sure. I've wondered that myself before, but that's the way this program chooses to do it. It may have something to do with a/v sync and the inner workings of a VCR and who the hell knows, lol. It's really not that painful though, so I haven't ever really worried about it.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 11:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

is the program free? or if not what would be a free one?
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.