Vaio Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2006, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Default Vaio Help

Hi i have a serious issue with my vaio computer. Im not sure if anyone can help me but its worth a try. I have a Sony Vaio PCV-RS620G. And it had something wrong with it like i would power it up but nothing would show and the power supply would just sound like it would be getting louder and just stay loud. So i took out the hard drive thinking it was a virus and put it in an enclosure and reformated it. And i have a recovery disc for it so i thought if i just recover it then it will be fine. Well i put hard drive back in and now it still doesnt show anything but i know the video card is sending out because the monitor would light up. I thought at first it was the video card but it wasnt. im not sure how i can tell if the motherboard is done. If there is some way to fix this problem that would be cool if someone could tell me. Thanks a lot.

Warriorlax21 is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 03:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533

have you been doin any overclocking before it happend ? , also did you attempt to update the bios before it happend? if you done any of those then youll have to reset the cmos via an onboard jumper (see the mobo manual for more info about it) if you did try to update the bios and it went badly then its about 50/50 chance that reseting the cmos will help , if you havnt done any of the above then then it must be the psu or motherboard but more likely the psu , if you wanna know 100% then measure the psu voltages with a digital multimeter and report back. see these guides , anyway lets say its the psu and not the motherboard then you can either rma the pc if you still got warranty or buy a high quality psu (however its possible that sony used some proprietary part/s and that can make it more difficult,maybe you got a special form factor psu and youll have to get a new case in order for the new psu to fit) anyway i recommend this psu

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 06:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

check/test the Pwr Supply /replace the cmoss battery/reseat the memory/make sure the cpu fan is working/reconnect all the MB cables/
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.