Using Power Supply for External Drive. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2009, 05:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Default Using Power Supply for External Drive.

I lost the power cord to my external drive, and I'm too poor to buy even that. So I am doing this instead:


Above is the type of connector my external drive uses. As you can see it uses the same voltage (and amperage for that matter) as an internal drive. The main difference is only one ground wire, #4 is the ground wire. Internal drives have two ground wires.. I don't know why.

Anyway, a normal power strip in a computer is 2 blacks, 1 yellow, 1 red. The red is 5v, the yellow is 12v, the blacks are grounds.

I split the 5v red into two wires, and put them into sockets 1 and 2 on the image. I put the yellow into socket 3. And the ground into socket 4. Anyway, I seem to be getting a short circuit, as far as I can tell, none of the wires are touching each other.

I can close and open the DvD drive, so it's working a little bit, but I disconnect it quickly to prevent any damage to anything. I don't know where the short circuit is coming from, can anyone tell? It gets very hot super fast, I assume it's a short circuit anyway.

My best theories
1) Having two ground wires is very relevant
2) Splitting the one 5v wire into two prongs is apparently causing an issue (Though I highly doubt this).
__________________

Inversified is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Using Power Supply for External Drive.

Use all the grounds, 4,5 and 6.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 08:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Using Power Supply for External Drive.

Agreed. Just connect it to one of the other ground points if you've run out of spots.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Using Power Supply for External Drive.

The labels indicate 4 is a ground, and 5 and 6 are labeled "shield", not entirely sure what that is, I assume something to do with canceling out interference.

Regardless, since a standard computer power cable has only two ground wires, how do you propose I use 4 5 and 6 as grounds?
Inversified is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 08:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Using Power Supply for External Drive.

As I said, if you run out of ground points, just connect them all to the same point.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 01:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Using Power Supply for External Drive.

Worked, thanks.
__________________

Inversified is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer hangs on a black screen zenyora Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 06-10-2009 03:12 PM
Playststion 3 Hard drive upgrade guide (56k warning, plenty of photos) solidsteve Sony Playstation 9 08-20-2008 10:18 AM
Hello, Power Supply question taruman121 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-20-2008 07:33 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.