Using an nVidia card for dedicated GPU PhysX Acceleration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2008, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Using an nVidia card for dedicated GPU PhysX Acceleration

Remember a bit back when I talked about using one GPU to be dedicated to PhysX?

Use the Big 180 Forceware Drivers and navigate here:



Then choose the GPU you want to be the "PhysX GPU"

Source:

AnandTech: NVIDIA Fall Driver Update (rel 180) and Other Treats
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: To Whomever Asked..

what if you have sli enabled im guessign it wotn work like that itl just use physx on both gpus a lil bit.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: To Whomever Asked..

no it'll just use the third card for physx. where as i think the 8800gt is physx and the 260 is just a single card.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 07:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: To Whomever Asked..

ahhh sick. im contemplating getting a 3 pci-e slot board now ive got an 8800gs or 9600gt on the way.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 10:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: To Whomever Asked..

Ya i'm going to use my 8800gt as my physix card whenever i get my x58
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 11:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: To Whomever Asked..

nice i might have asked that. thanks
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 01:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: To Whomever Asked..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poizen22 View Post
what if you have sli enabled im guessign it wotn work like that itl just use physx on both gpus a lil bit.
Yes it will, unless you have a third card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
no it'll just use the third card for physx. where as i think the 8800gt is physx and the 260 is just a single card.
If you have three cards, then yeah. iIf you only have two cards in SLI, physx will run off both.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 11:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Using an nVidia card for dedicated GPU PhysX Acceleration

Nice! I wasn't aware of this. I'm just now replacing my older eVGA 8800 GTX KO's, For a new 275. So this is nice being able to at least still use one of the 8800's for something! Here I thought I'd just have two really big paper weights. (don't like selling old hardware)
augest is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 11:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Using an nVidia card for dedicated GPU PhysX Acceleration

While technically a necropost I will leave it be.

It just came to light that Nvidia has set up their stuff to not work if the main graphics card (the one outputting the image) is not an Nvidia card. ATI is not happy, but says that this will actually hurt Nvidia. I can see their point.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 10-02-2009, 12:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Using an nVidia card for dedicated GPU PhysX Acceleration

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
While technically a necropost I will leave it be.

It just came to light that Nvidia has set up their stuff to not work if the main graphics card (the one outputting the image) is not an Nvidia card. ATI is not happy, but says that this will actually hurt Nvidia. I can see their point.
I certainly can, idiotic and I'd have thought it breaks competition laws too.

But yes since ATI are doing well for price to performance their cards are getting more popular. If someone can't buy an ATI card and use a slightly older nvidia card for physX then nvidia sales may well drop, people will just decide to buy one very good card..and if ATI happens to offer the best card for the price...well bye bye nvidia sales.
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA, Take-Two Announce Support for NVIDIA PhysX maroon1 PC Gaming 20 12-17-2008 01:26 AM
Overclocking an Nvidia 8600GT GPU - Clock settings jmoussa87 Overclocking and Modding 14 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM
PhysX Card vs 8800GTX? Sydzy New Systems | Building and Buying 12 04-16-2007 02:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.