Using my TV as a monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2006, 04:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Using my TV as a monitor

Ok so for my birthday i plan on having some freinds over and watching south park, and other shows, that i have on my computer. I want to be able to just send the files to my Xbox360, but for some reason my windows media center is skrewed up. Anyway, my second option is to use my TV as a monitor, so i basiacally achieve the same thing. Problem is i can't just take the S-video cable that came from my graphics card and plug it into my TV. I have a Saphire x850XT, and i asked for help on their forums, but all i got was that i need to go into catalyst control center to configure it. Problem there is that everytime i try and open catalyst, it tells me i don't have access , and to contact my administrator. Im on an administrator account, and i don't know what to do. I've uninstalled and reinstalled catalyst, but to no avail. Any suggestions? When i plug the tv up it gets a very bad , fuzzy, black and white picture.
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

What kind of TV do you have? High Definition or Regular Definition?

Also, have a look at this thread that I just replied to for more info on hooking up a TV to video card.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

It's not a high definition, it has a component input, and an s-video input. I'll look at that thread.
edit: ok im going to try messing with the resolution ect.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Ok the picture is black and white and it's flicering up and down the screen. Where do i go form here? ATI's software isn't an option, because it wont let me access it. Should i change the hertz? i don't know about my tv, but would that possibly be a problem? None of the settings i found in windows really helped.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 05:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Ok i tried using this adapter that lets me use a yellow component cable instead of the S-video cable, although it still originates from the s-video out on my gpu. This made no difference.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 05:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

well u need to be able to get into the catalyst control center thats ur only option i just had this problem but with and nvidia card adn it turns out that it was set to s-video instead of component video and once i switched it it works great. u should try to uninstall and install again for the control center but this time after u uninstall go into ur registry and delete all references to the catalyst control cause if u keep having the same problem it prolly means ur computer is retaining remnants of the contorl center
__________________

__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.