using internet and tv simultaneous - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2004, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default using internet and tv simultaneous

i have cable in a room and i want to hook up a cable modem to the cable line. can i use a splitter and hook up the and internet on the same line? note: i dont have to have a special internet line, i can hook up my modem to any cable line in my house.
__________________

__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

yes you can use a spliter
__________________

mre30 is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 06:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

but you're going to get a split signal... so if ur tv is ever on then instead of getting say the advertised speed of 1mb (just an example) ull get speeds of around 512k
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

i never have noticed any difference in my internet if my cable tv was on......but yes a splitter is the way its done.
jaksback is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 12:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default

if im on the internet and watching tv will the clarity of the picture be altered in any way
__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 12:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

i shouldnt think so
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Whatever company sets up your cable internet, probably will do the splitter for you. When I got cable in my house, they ran a splitter from the box and put in the line for me. All I had to do was twist on the cable to the wireless modem and go.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.