Using A Bad CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2005, 10:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Exclamation Using A Bad CPU

If you put a bad CPU into a good mobo, can it damage the mobo? How about Memory?
__________________

__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 10:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

why would you want to use an old processor in a new mobo?

how old is the processor? Pentium 2 era?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Default

Nope, same processor as yours. Coming out of a bad board.
__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you should be able to use it but make sure its a celeron D. A normal celeron was based on a pentium 3 chip, and celeron D is based on pentium 4 chip.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: Using A Bad CPU

Quote:
Originally posted by coreyjames66
If you put a bad CPU into a good mobo, can it damage the mobo? How about Memory?
It is possible to damage the board depending on whats wrong with it.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Default

Thanks for the responses. I guess I'm probably better off shelling out the $80 for the new processor. I'm glad I asked!

-Corey
__________________

__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.