Used Server. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2009, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Used Server.

I didn't really know where this would go. I am thinking of buying a used server.

Dell PowerEdge R200 Server

BLADE SERVER - BLACK

I will use this for running games, printers, and other applications like ventrilo. Is it worth it?
__________________

overlord20 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Used Server.

if you had any old or spare pc's laying around you could make one of them a server instead of buying one.

but for $200 the first one dont look too bad. just not much HDD space.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Used Server.

I could add another hdd if I needed to. I do have my old celron d 1gb ddr 160gb ide hdd comp. Would that make a decent server? It has windows xp home on it. I was going to make it into a htpc for my tiny tv in my room but i might be able to use it as a server.
overlord20 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Used Server.

you could use it as a server and as a HTCP. just put server 2008 on it and go with that

for hosting games you do not need alot of computer power at all. just bump the ram up to 4GB and throw in a decent vid card and your good to go.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Used Server.

It's a server.. you don't need a decent video card, just get something that'll run..

Even as an htcp a base gpu will give good enough picture to a tv.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 07:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Used Server.

Well the old gpu is a agp nvidia fx5200
overlord20 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 07:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Used Server.

^ that will still be plenty. i was just talking upgrading from integrated gfx even hosting games does not require alot. most games just say for hosting that you need to meed the min req.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 07:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Used Server.

I have many servers that I have installed that are headless that run without a monitor, you don't need any graphical output for a server just a ssh connection, if you do need a local connection get a KVM an use the on board video.

And don't spend the money on a dedicated server till you can handle or need one, I use many old desktop computers as servers for a whole load of jobs, but alongside some serious servers I have one here running 2 quad core processors and 24gb of memory but that is a serious server that I host some stuff for some of my clients on.

But to be honest a home server needs very little power, I have a 478 machine with 256mb ddr running a intranet server for my family and its well over powered for what it dose.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Used Server.

well hosting a (modern) game would need a little more than a P4 and 256mb of ram. but for running a intranet server that's all you really need.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Used Server.

So my old comp will work? I will get info on what a l4d server requires. and how much bandwidth does a server normally suck?
__________________

overlord20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to obtain SQL Server FullText Search service? BobLewiston Programming 9 08-14-2009 08:24 AM
Configure Static IP Address in Ubuntu Server 8.10 Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 03-30-2009 09:44 AM
Terminal License Server - Expired !! roumieh2000 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-04-2008 01:46 AM
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.