usb2.0 + psu problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2005, 06:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default usb2.0 + psu problem

hi all, recently bought a usb2.0 pci card (4 port) to put into my system (p3 700, 256mb, 40gb, with only 100w psu ) and it would not turn on... i removed all pci expansion cards that i had on there and tried again.. nothing.. not even a kick of the fans.. it seems like the card requires too much power that my psu cannot supply??? i run a 32mb tnt2 m64 graphix card and runs fine and also have a usb1.1 card (2 port) at the same time with no probs.. is it the particular brand having a conflict with my system ?? it is a laser usb2.0 card (cheap as they get i no) plz help and is there any other brands that could possibly work without changin my psu???
__________________

BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 08:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

100W u sure about this?

anyway if u wanna test te psu u could try unplugging the hdd (and still keep the usb2 attached) card and see if ur puter boots up that way.
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

yes i no it seems a bit low but im serious its 100w .. it was originally a hp with microatx board and cel500 but i put a new mo/bo in and a p3 700 and it runs fine.. yeh i tried pullin the hdd out and try booting and still nothing so i dunno?
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

100W!! Get a new PSU, maybe a new system.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

lol yeh i no i probly will but i would like to no if it is the psu disallowing the usb2.0 card to run on my system or wat it is? i mean if u look at my specs and me sayin that it runs fine then why would a usb2.0 card not run on my 100w psu?? i dont understand why .. some guy reckons the circuit board on the usb2 card consumes too much power or sumthin.. any ideas?
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 08:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

I really think u need a new psu I have a 275w on my p3 and it gets the job done.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

ok then thanx.. ill get a new case and psu coz the psu in this one is a sff psu and its hard to find one for it and they're expensive so ill just get new case.. thanx agn
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 11:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i didnt know 100w psu existed!!! ive only ever seen as low as a 200w and that was on a p1
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 09:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

yeh its becoz its a small form factor one its tiny even more so than microatx psu .. the only ones ive seen around now are 180w and they cost too much i might as well just buy a new case with psu in it saves time and money
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

the hd consumes about 25W. i don't think(not sure though) that an usb2 card should eat that much powa, so there's prolly some kinda other hardware conflicy there, as u already tried booting without the hd... or maybe u could also try removing the vid card and hd, but keep the usb2 card attached and see if the puter boots that way?
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.