USB vs. Ethernet - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2005, 05:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default USB vs. Ethernet

Hey folks, just wondering what you people can tell me about USB vs. Ethernet. Which is better for connecting to the int3r-web (oh yes, thats right)? Why? Eh? etc.

Any help ya can give would be great. Cheers
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 06:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Ethernet probably, since it was designed to be used for networks, which is what the Internet is.

To be honest there isn't much difference. They will both be the same speed. Only if you use USB you'll have other drivers and stuff loaded that don't need to be.

So either. You woudn't notice a difference.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 08:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

if you have the choice to use either, then just use the ethernet. I think USB max is like 400mb/s, but you can never get that much over the internet so it dosnt matter.
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 08:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Ok, cheers, another question if you will.

What exactly is an 'offload checksum', and what is the effect of disabling it?
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 09:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i used to get only 500kb download when i used USB, but i switched over to ethernet and now i get 2MB. but them it just goes down and down and down and stays around 700kb
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 09:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

ethernet is faster for cable internet. i used USB did a speed check , then ethernet , and it was much faster theoreticly. however i never reach those speeds anyway cuase i live in australia and all international links are slow anyway
__________________

Sashatheman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.