usb-internet problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2005, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default Eithernet card prob.

Hi and thanks for any help u can provide. Start with what i have, which is an Amd ath 1.3 1 gig ram 120 gb hd, My motherboard has 2 usb slots, there is also a card that offers 4 usb slots. then there is 2 on the front along with headphone jack on the front. Ive got a dsl connection that is connected to a linksys router.

I was told when i got the computer that the usb and headphone jack on the front wernt usable, cant remember exactly why.

My problem is this, if i have a usb mouse plugged in the mouse will stop workin after bout 2 minutes of use. Ive even gotten a blue screen pop up tellin me there was an error and that windows had to shut down. Also at the same time the mouse went down my internet connection to just this computer started messing up. When it does connect to a site its very slow, most the time it times out. The other 3 computers in the house are workin fine on the router. I can install a ps2 mouse and i dont get the freezing up. I had the error code written down, cant find it now though. But read that there was a conflict with the usb's. didnt have time to research it more. Also read that the bios may need to be updated or something like that. I tried a system restore but there wasnt an eariler time that it could go to. Oh what i think caused all this, my brother took some headphones and plugged them into the front, which wasnt supposed to work, im guessin this caused a conflict maybe???? Well i hope ive provided enough info. Need more let me know...


Usb seems to be fixed now, thanks....But Still having internet problems. Looks like i can connect to web sites, when i type the web address in it appears that it connects. I see the name of the site show up in the blue bar at the very top of the browser but after that it times out....Thanks!
__________________

machine is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

There's a USB driver conflict somewhere. Are these devices both on the ports on the mobo or the card? Or is one on the card and one on the mobo port?
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

The 2 that are comin from the front went straight into the mobo. Then there were four more that also connected into the mobo board. then there were 2 that are built directly into the mobo. I disconnected all of the usb's that i could and it hasnt locked up since. My Internet connection is still bugged though...
machine is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 10:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

It's a driver problem.
Don't remember how to fix this, but it's a driver problem.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Lol, thanks. Maybe someone will know.....
machine is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

why don't you use a RJ45 cable instead of a USB?

btw, my friend's dell does that too
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 12:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Usb seems to be fixed now, thanks....But Still having internet problems. Looks like i can connect to web sites, when i type the web address in it appears that it connects. I see the name of the site show up in the blue bar at the very top of the browser but after that it times out....Thanks!

Also ive got a joystick card that had come loose and may have made contact with the eithernet card, could this have caused damage to the either card?
__________________

machine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.