USB Cable 3 in 1?? Is there such thing? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2011, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default USB Cable 3 in 1?? Is there such thing?

Hey was wondering if there was a USB cable that would go from my External Hard Drive straight from there to my PC, PS3 and Xbox 360. Tryed looking but have no look finding them Attachment 4886
Attached Images
File Type: jpg USB CABLE.jpg (5.2 KB, 31 views)
__________________

__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I have never seen anything like that. I don't think they exist. Can't you just remove the cable and plug it in a next device?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: USB Cable 3 in 1?? Is there such thing?

If there was some way to reverse the direction the data went in a USB hub that would work. But I have now idea if you could do that.

If you just want it so you don't have to move cables all the time a sharing hub like this: Newegg - Cables Unlimited 4 to 1 USB 2.0 Automatic Switchbox may work. But if you want to be able to access it from multiple devices at once I don't know if that is possible.

Hope this helps.

Here is another version: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817112201
fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 632
Default Re: USB Cable 3 in 1?? Is there such thing?

There are devices known as a USB Hub Switch that will allow you to do that. I have no experience with them so I can't comment on how well they work. Here's a link to one example: 4-port-manual-switch.
strollin is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: USB Cable 3 in 1?? Is there such thing?

That's what Fairfield was talking about.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-25-2011, 10:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: USB Cable 3 in 1?? Is there such thing?

Was looking at some routers in the past couple days and saw something else that may help. On some routers they have a USB port on the back so you can hook up an external HD or printer so all the PCs/devices on the network can use it. I am not sure if you could access it from more then 1 device at a time though. Maybe someone else on here knows.

Of course this would only work if all the devices connect to your router (assuming of course that you have one). The router you have may have a USB port and you might not have realized it. Hope this helps!
fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Old 09-25-2011, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: USB Cable 3 in 1?? Is there such thing?

Routers usually do either or, not both. A print server or a external NAS.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-25-2011, 11:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: USB Cable 3 in 1?? Is there such thing?

So they can only do printers or only do HDs not either/or? I do mean not at the same time just so you know.

On a sorta side note this router has 2 USB ports so maybe it could do both at once?: Amazon: ASUS (RT-N56U) Black Diamond Dual Band Wireless-N 600 Router.
fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 08:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: USB Cable 3 in 1?? Is there such thing?

Yea, few have 2 USB, and can do both.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 09:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: USB Cable 3 in 1?? Is there such thing?

Ok thanks for clearing that up.
__________________

fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coaxil Cables for Cable Internet / Cable TV freak67 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 11-16-2006 06:11 PM
Difference between Network Cable and Patch Cable? qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 10-24-2006 09:37 PM
Help: Using a crossover cable as a regular patch cable. funkture Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 10-13-2006 01:24 AM
can i use a normal crossover cable for a system link cable? ccrraazzyy Microsoft XBox 11 03-03-2005 03:42 PM
Is there such a thing as an internal usb y cable? ingeborgdot Overclocking and Modding 6 01-15-2005 03:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.