Usb Bandwidth - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2002, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to tspar
Default Usb Bandwidth

Hope someone can help !....
Im running win xp pro on my laptop (advent 5372,700mhz,256 ram)
Due to there only being 1 usb slot im using a Belkin 4-port USB hub which up to now has been running fine connecting my printer,scanner, web cam.
Ive just bought a labtec headset (usb) to use in conjuction with my webcam (sony cmr pc3) but when i use windows movie maker to record a video using the webcam i get an error message saying my capture device isnt configured properly (although ive installed the XP upgrade from the sony site) then a "bubble" appears telling me that the USB Bandwidth controller hasnt enough badwidth to use the headset to record anything ?
Ive disconnected all but webcam and headset (as the bubble suggests) but to no avail. This is very frustrating as it makes my webcam redundant except for "stills". If anyone has had the same prob or can help in anyway that would be much appreciated

tspar is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to stevecool67 Send a message via AIM to stevecool67

I don't have the same problem but I do know that if you are using USB 1.1 you are dealing with significantly reduced bandwidth. USB 1.1 theoretically deals with around 11-12 mbits/sec but as with most things it can't or won't go that fast. Your webcam and headset require the largest amount of bandwidth out of the peripherals listed, so it is probably overdrawing the available bandwidth.
Now, if you're getting tired of hearing me say bandwidth, we can talk software... I personally don't know about Windows movie maker (Linux Rocks) but you might want to try another software suite for movie production before throwing in the towel..

stevecool67 is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 09:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205

Yep, trying to transfer too much data. Go get a PCI USB2.0 card (they're cheap, around $10) and your problem will disappear.
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 09:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325

nvalhalla, I am not very hot on laptops, but don’t think you get many spare PCI slots. It would be worth looking for a PCMCIA to USB 2 like this to solve your problem.

Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

newegg has USB2 PCMCIA cards at $15, the best deal looks like this:
ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.