usb 2.0 wont work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2004, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default usb 2.0 wont work

i have an external hard drive enclosure that works with usb 2.0. i am currently using it on a regular usb connection because i cant get my 2.0 to work. the pci card is connected and it says its working but when i plug anything into it it doesnt work. doesnt even show its connected. i was wondering if anyone has had this problem and if so how to fix it.
__________________

__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

You can try reinstalling the driver(s) and see if that helps. If your USB 2.0 card didn't come with any drivers, just shut off your PC, open your case, unplug your card, and plug it back into another PCI slot. If all else fails, just go to www.newegg.com or www.tigerdirect.com and purchase a new USB 2.0 card. Hope this helps.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

ive tried uninstalling it and installing it again but that didnt help. thanks for trying though. if all else fails i guess i will get a new usb 2.0 card.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 06:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Yup, no problem Sorry I wasn't able to assist you further.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476
Default

Go to device manager and there should be an exclamation mark by the USB section near the bottom. If there is, then let Windows download the driver for you. I have to do this everytime i reinstall XP for some reason ...
__________________
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 11:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to The Rage
Default

The OS for this computer is needed. XP with no SP1 or 2 will not load 2.0. You need SP1 or 2 for USB2.0
__________________
You wouldn\'t like me when I\'m angry
The Rage is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 03:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

i have xp with sp1 installed still not working.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 08:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476
Default

Is there an exclamation mark in device manager?
__________________
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 10:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

no it shows its installed and working properly, but i cant get anything to work on it not even usb 1.1.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 09:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 83
Default

Motherboard drivers installed?
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-X mainboard
Athlon XP 3200+
1 GB Ram
120 GB HD (IDE)
250 GB HD (IDE)
128 MB Radeon 9800 PRO with custom H/S fan
8 x DVD Writer + DVD ROM
8 Meg ADSL (with ****ty ISP Bulldog)
Mystify Mamba mouse
And still ****ty fps in CS Source.
stumanoo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.