URGENT! Sound/Motherboard HELP!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2004, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Question URGENT! Sound/Motherboard HELP!!!

i recently helped my friend sort his computer out he had two computers old and new and wanted to make one better, the new case alread had motherboard hardriv(60gig) etc in it... so he put his old hadrive(40gig) on same ide as the new cases hardrive(60) and it seemed to **** both hd's up (although jumpers were set to master and one to slave and positioned right on ide) so i tryed one at a time... the 40gig sed windows xp wernt activated so wouldnt log us on, and the 60gig wen attached to motherboard on its own made the monitor turn off and on.... so we used the old motherboard(old) and took the one in the new case out..we reformated and installed windows xp on the 40gig hd and it worked.. but the video drivers (which ar on board) didnt work, so we ran system restore cd which installed them and everything worked fine... his cpu is 1.7 so i put the one off the new motherboard 2.3 into the motherboard we were now usin... wen i started the computer it wouldt start up and was constantly beeping... i left it and then it came on saying error or sumit... it loaded windows and seemed fine... i atacched the cd rw dvd and floppy restarted and it worked like new... only problem is... theres no sound... the sound is also onboard and i dunno how to fix this... his dad says we have to do it by tomorrow... wud it work if i bort a new sound card and installed it or is the motherboad fkd? PLease help i would be so much thankfull!! i am really crappin it!
__________________

psycho16 is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 85
Default

make sure you have the drivers and make sure the onboard sound is enabled in device manager. also maybe check bios, maybe the advanced chipset features page.
__________________

__________________
Asus A7n8x-x
athlon 2800
radeon 9600 pro
512 mb 2700 mem
western digital 80gb special edition
zoerb is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Well if you need t done buy tommrow i suggest you install a sound card or you can just ceck the the device manager like z said and see if its installed try running a windows update 4 drivers and check the company website
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 02:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Default

but how do i find the make of the motherboard or how do i know which drivers to get i have no box or anything for the motherboard... the bios also doesnt have anythin on it stating sound or audio?!? it will deffo work if i get a soundcard wont it?
psycho16 is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 02:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what sound card do you currently have in it?
you can find drivers for just about anything at www.driverguide.com
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 12:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Default

thats xactly my question, its on board sound an i dont know what drivers to get for it, cos i dunno wot its called
psycho16 is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 01:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Most times the manufatuer - think I spelt that right - of the mobo will put its name on the board someplace. The model is on there too.

Just find it and go to the site, download the driver and away you go.
Imaxle is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 07:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Default

so the motherboard is deffo not f*ckd? it will deffo work if i get the drivers, or a new soundcard? his dad forgot so i think i gonna do it this week sometime. His BIOS dont have anything about disabling onboard sound onit, is there n e other way of disabeling it if i get a new sound card?
psycho16 is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 08:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Look on the board for a manufacturer logo start with finding out what board you have .Look for Asus,MSI,VIA,Intel etc..stamped on the mobo, then hit the support site for updates
manuals etc....
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 12:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

If its an older board They also disable onboard stuff with pin's on the mother board.
It might be fine dont sweat it so much.Takes a while to figure out puter problems sometiems.Cause everyone is differnt .So no one cure for all of them.Plus why you think those geek's make so much cash = )
__________________

Deadguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.