Upgrading Sony Vaio - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2004, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default Upgrading Sony Vaio

I want to upgrade the motherboard on my three year old Sony Viao tower.

I went to two major electronic stores and was told that Sony uses nonstandard motherboards. The staff told me I wouldn't be able to use anything sold at their stores.

HELP! What can I do? I want to upgrade to DDR RAM and have a faster Front Side Bus, but I don't know what's compatible with my system.

Thanks,
Skip
__________________

kingskip01 is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 05:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

buy a new case and motherboard. U will not find a motherboard to fit into your vaio case unless u buy a vaio motherboard. Some are made my intel and some are made by other companies. You will need to buy a new case.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 05:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

start from scratch, sony is bad at making pc's anyway
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

well i pcked up a Sony PCV RZ35G the motherboard was made by ASUS specificly for Sony . I have this nice Aluminum case that i plan on putting it in .It has a crap load of front usb , sound and memory stick that ill have to mod around .P4 2.8 HT ,DVD-RW ,
CD-DVD Player , 512 mb Samsung PC 2700u memory . TV tuner with S video .Low end FX5200( i plan on installing my spare 9700 Pro ).120 GIG Seagate HD onboard sound / Gig Lan . Digital DT speakers , KB , mouse , NEC 17" LCD monitor . Actually a pretty descent system .The MOD will help keep me from day dreaming .
Plus" free is good "
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 11:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for all the tips.

I don't have the money to spend on new cases, PSU's and such. Where can I find out who manufactured my motherboard? If I contact the manufacturere, could I buy a better motherboard that would still fit my old case?

Thanks,
Skip
kingskip01 is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 06:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

look on the motherboard for a Number .If thats the original case there should be a Model/Serial number on the side cover or rear.
Use the internet to search for any info , use key words like
"How to identify older Sony Computers " . Your bound to find plenty of WSites with info.
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 08:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to multarnc Send a message via Yahoo to multarnc
Default

Cases don't cost that much and usually come with a PSU, as long as you don't get anything fancy. You'd be much better off going with a standard ATX case, easier to upgrade than a proprietary system. I went through what you're going through about 6 years ago with an IBM Aptiva. I ended up building a new one from scratch and salvaging what I could from the Aptiva, never bought a proprietary system again, besides a laptop for obvious reasons.
multarnc is offline  
Old 04-30-2004, 01:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

So Here's the next question...

Will a new Nvidia video card fit into the case? It's a 128 MB Geforce 4 with a 8x AGP slot.

Thanks,
Skip
kingskip01 is offline  
Old 04-30-2004, 08:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 64
Send a message via ICQ to CrossMX Send a message via AIM to CrossMX Send a message via Yahoo to CrossMX
Default

Yes, an 8x card will not work but as posted above you can ind better boards made for Sony's. If you are really set on keep what you have in the Sony be prepaired for some costs but hey, thats what being a Case Modder is about. However realize that Sony is very picky about there systems in the fact (not of quality) but of who can change them without Sony products.
__________________

__________________
http://home.comcast.net/~wafflecross/Car-Sig.jpg Heatware = Cross
\"I see you have the ring and I see that your Schwartz is as big as mine.\" -- Dark Helmet, Spaceballs
I stayed up one night playing poker with Tarot cards. I got a full house and 4 people died.
CrossMX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.