Upgrading... For A Rookie - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2005, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Upgrading... For A Rookie

Ok, I am looking to upgrade my pc.

Specs:

2.4 Ghz Celeron
40 Gb Harddrive
MSI P4MAM-V Motherboard
256 Mb Ram
Etc...

OK Nothing flash at all..... Thats why im upgrading it.

First of all... Video Card
My motherboard features on-board graphics. Does this mean that to purchase a new video card i will have to purchase a new motherboard? If so, what would you recommend thats good, but not too expensive?

RAM: When i opened up my case i saw the RAM: only 256 MB of it. Can i just purchase another card and put it straight into the spare slot?

And also would you recommend purchasing another CPU or is the celeron ok?

Thanks
__________________

benjers_43 is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

I'd say your gonna be stuck with a PCI graphics cards, no? That would do your system pretty well for on the cheap
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 12:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Benjers_43, it depends on what your using your system for, or what you want to use your system for after upgrading it. Personally i would built a new system, but i do alot on my computer. So my needs demand better hardware.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 04:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
Default

here is a mobo, ram, and graphics card. for a good price.

mobo

graphics card

Ram


here u go get back to me if u liek waht u see or if u want something different or better or not as good. into hardcore gaming graphics card should be awsome and if u dont care about overclocking Mobo is great and ram is just awsome for ur mother board it comes to a total of about 275 i think. i dont feel like doing the math.
socom234 is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Hey thanks for that.

But one thing, would my motherboard be Ok to keep or should i really ugrade. It does feature one 4x AGP expansion slot, and 3 PCI slots... I Think, so that kinda offers a lot more to me in the way of Video Cards doesn't it?
benjers_43 is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default

My Motherboards Specs:

MSI "P4MAM-V" P4M266A Chipset Motherboard for Intel Socket 478 CPU -RETAIL
Specifications:
Supported CPU: Intel Pentium 4(HT)/Celeron Processors(Prescott Ready)
Chipset: VIA P4M266A + VT8235
FSB: 533/400MHz
Memory: 2x DIMM for DDR266 up to 2GB
IDE: 2x ATA 133 up to 4 Devices
Slots: 1x AGP 4X, 3x PCI, 1x CNR
Ports: 2x PS/2,1x VGA,1xCOM,1xLPT,6xUSB2.0(Rear 4),1x LAN,Audio Ports
Onboard Audio: VIA VT1616 6-Channel Codec
Onboard Video: S3 ProSavage8 Graphics
Onboard LAN: VIA VT6103 10/100Mbps Fast Ethernet
Form Factor: microATX
benjers_43 is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
Default

well agp is pretty much out dated now so u would have to replace it again pretty soon any way and the ram i chose for is almost twice as fast as what ur boad can support now and video card can do agp 8x stay go with the mobo i told u about. i mean its up to. if u decide to keep ur mobo here is some different ram.

ram, just buy two of these if u decide to keep old mobo.
socom234 is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 08:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

agp is not really out dated...
considering any graphx card out right now doesnt fully utilize pci ex agp is not outdated
Echo_ is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 10:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

AGP is not outdated. We barely even use AGP4x to it's full potentional.

I recomend getting a 9600 or a 5700, another 256 meg stick of ram and you should be fine.

I am not american, but the GEIL seems to have an awfully high price.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 04:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
Default

im sorry i ment agp 4x is out dated, or i soon going to be with the new pci-e in about 6 months, bye bye agp 4x
__________________

socom234 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.