upgrading ram in laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2004, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Default upgrading ram in laptop

I have a compaq presario with 512mb of ram upgrading to 1024mb. will more ram make games run better, or will the graphics card always limit the speed games run at. the graphics card is an ATI radeon 4x agp with 64mb of shared memory. Thanks.
__________________

kileak is offline  
Old 05-25-2004, 11:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default Re: upgrading ram in laptop

Quote:
Originally posted by kileak
I have a compaq presario with 512mb of ram upgrading to 1024mb. will more ram make games run better, or will the graphics card always limit the speed games run at. the graphics card is an ATI radeon 4x agp with 64mb of shared memory. Thanks.
Well, it really depends on what games you are playing, and what type of lag you are talking about.

If you are playing high-tech games such as FarCry and such which require a lot of video memory to play, it is more likely the video card that is altering your performance.

Here are some descriptions on what type of lag you are talking about:

MEMORY LAG - If you do not have enough memory in your system, sometimes games will "stutter" or "pause" for a few seconds, and then "unpause" and start moving again. This generally means that a RAM upgrade will help. If this isnt the case, read the next description.

VIDEO LAG - "Video lag" is caused by a fault in video cards. Since video cards not only help the graphics look a little better, but also help games run "smoothe", this can also cause problems if your video card is not powerful enough. A sign of "video lag" is when the game does not run smooth, and when using the mouse to look around, if trying to look around is very jerky or non-smoothe, it is likely video lag. Also, if your video card is not powerful enough, sometimes the game will stutter and the ground will look as if it is moving back and forth.


Hopefully these descriptions will help.

Good luck!
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 12:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Default

well the game mysterious journey 2 runs good as long as the detail isn't set real high, it does pause from time to time for a second or so. The game that realy had trouble though was the Hobbit. It ran good until these barrel things blew up, then everything slowed way way down. That's probably the video card huh?
kileak is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 04:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the video card processes all the graphics, a good video card will not have to use any of the main CPU time thus leaving more CPU time to process other areas of the game

judging by your hardware specs I'd say an upgrade of video card will do better than an upgrade of RAM, although it might be harder to find a video card for a laptop
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.