Upgrading Radeon 9500 to X300? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2005, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default Upgrading Radeon 9500 to X300?

I'm buying a new computer that comes with a Radeon X300 which is PCI express plugged into a 16x slot. I currently have a Radeon 9500 in my old pc and I am wondering which card is better in direct comparison. They are both 128mb but I know there is more to consider like pixel pipelines and so on. Currently I'm running Doom 3 and Half-Life 2 pretty decently off my 9500.
__________________

EatGreenCrayons is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Your 9500 is better than that crap X300. You can't plug a 9500 into that computer though. Cause of the 9500 is AGP. I would recommend you get a 6600GT on PCIe because the X300 is really gonna cuase gaming problems. It will bottleneck your whole system and screw you over.!
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

sounds like sumthing dell does. ive seen them advertise thier "ultimate gaming machine" a P4 3.4 wit a gig ddr2 and other high end stuff along wit the x300se. lol cant believe they put such a rubbish card in it
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

ATI's are great, but the cheap assed line of cards suck. I have a 9600xt and its better than the one one of my buddies that came in his cheap
HP
Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default

is there anything ATI that's comparable to my 9500 in terms of price and performance? How about like an x700 pro, or even the x600, are either of those better than my 9500? I'm kinda unfamiliar with the latest line of cards because I know the 9X00's pretty well and I know 6800 and 6600 are like pretty top of the line.
EatGreenCrayons is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

X700Pro and X600 are not good cards. You can get an X700Pro for $170 and that barely measures up to a GeForce 6600 non-GT. A GeForce 6600Gt that comes at lowest $183 on PCIe16x will whoop an X700Pro...
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default

okay the 6600gt sounds good, but help me understand the difference between 256mb and 128mb and also the bit interface because why is the 6600gt 128mb better than the 6600 256mb? Also, does it matter that much if I get a third party made model as opposed to the more expensive nVidia models?
EatGreenCrayons is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 10:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

How much memory a card has doesn't constitute its performance. The difference between 128 and 256mb is practically nil The GT probably has a larger bit interface, which is how much bandwidth it can handle, more pipelines and/ or clock speeds, I dunno which it is though, but thats what makes cards faster

Defiantly go with the 6600GT, and look into an eVGA model. FYI, Nvidia does not manufactor its own cards, it relies on OEM's to sell its cards
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 10:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks Merlin that was very helpful. What is an eVGA and will it be compatible with my current VGA monitor?
EatGreenCrayons is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 10:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

eVGA is just the brand name of teh 6600GT you'll wanna look for
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.