Upgrading old comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2005, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default Upgrading old comp

First of all, i was wondering if an agp 8x/4x card will fit on an agp 4x/2x (2.0) slot. I read alot of information about this and it still confuses me. I generally get teh sense taht yes, the agp 8x/4x will fit in the 4x/2x. Just want to make sure.
Also, will there be a huge performance cut by having agp 4x instead of 8x? I heard different opinions from the web, and i just want to make sure.

Another this is that i want to upgrade my old northwood 2.0 p4. The max fsb my mobo can handle is 533. I was thinking about getting a celeron d for it, but i can't decide between the 3.06 ghz one and the 2.8 ghz one. Is 2.6 ghz really worth that extra 30 bucks? Also, in terms of performance, what pentium processor would be most suitable to be compared with the 3.06 ghz celeron? Should I scrap my celeron plans and just go into a pentium? Please offer suggestions.
(not looking for amds because my mobo will not support amd processors!)

Hacp is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006

Ow ya, I'm not planning to do some serious gaming on that comp. Nothing like doom3. Just WoW and guild wars.

Hacp is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Yes, your AGP 8x card will work with a 4x/2x slot. And, no it wont hurt your performance too much.

I would just stay with your 2GHz P4. Save the money and get a nice vid card, and you will be able to play games better than if you were to take your budget and get a new CPU and a new vid card.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006

edit: i said 2.6 ghz. Meant 260 mhz.
Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.