Upgrading my Pre-Built System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2004, 02:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Question Upgrading my Pre-Built System

I have a D'HELL and I was wondering how I would go about replacing the motherboard. It currently only features a Mini-ATX board which I was dissapointed about.

It looks as if it has the room to acompany a normal ATX board, has anyone had experience with this?

P.S.: After I get a new motherboard I'm gonna save up for a new case too.
__________________

__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

is it the bog standard dell box? with the green cpu cooler thing? ive seen two both with on board graphics and both micro ATX i doubt the case is big enough for a normal ATX tbh cos its designed to fit that mobo. throw the case/cpu cooler/mobo replace em and keep the rest. all u can do really. build ur own fro now one i would recomend
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 07:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Can someone verify this?

-Ya its the one with the green thingy over the processor.
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 02:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the board size is usually determined by the no. of CPU's (a dual CPU board is usually bigger than a single CPU board) and the number of PCI slots (standard is 5-6) most boards have an AGP slot too, so it should have 6-7 spaces
if your case has 6-7 PCI/AGP spaces (which you take out when you put in a new card) you'll be ok with a bigger board
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.