Upgrading my PC, Help please! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2004, 06:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default Upgrading my PC, Help please!

hello everyone!

Well I was looking to upgrade my PC but im kinda uncertain of what I can do so I'd appreciate any help really!
I mainly use it for gaming so Im looking for anything 2 give me better framerates!
My current spec is:

Asrock K7S8X Motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 3000+ CPU running @ 2.10GHz (400MHz fsb)
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB AGP Graphics
40Gb 7200RPM HDD
1Gb DDR 333 RAM (2x 512Mb sticks)
3.5" Floppy Drive
8X DVD Re-Writer
52X CD-ROM Drive
550W PSU

What could I upgrade to enhance performance?
Any help would be appreciated!
Regards,

Andrew Minckley
__________________

AndyMinx is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

i cant see much wrong with that...a larger hdd maybe
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

That's what I'd say you should upgrade...the Hard Drive. Maybe to 120GB?
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

sounds ok, but there are a few changes that would help.

I woudl get this motherboard, or this one because they are really really stable.

the graphics card should be the 9800Pro 128mb, because it performs better than the 256mb version in most circumstances, because ATi changed the architecture of 256mb.

if you are going to overclock, get good ram, you should go for Corsair or a good brand (OCZ, geil etc.) you will be ok with DDR333, even if you are clocking it to 200Mhz, Provided you dont get cheap, crappy ram like regulus and willsko said, you would probably like to get a bigger harddrive, even if you arent going to use all the space, (you might use more than you think and then you always have room for unexpected stuff) also make sure the hard drive is SATA because it will increase system performance noticably
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 08:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to wead
Default

Instead of replacing the Hard Drive why not just get another one and set it as a slave. Or hell if you got money get 3. Also maybe get another gb or ram if it can hold it.

If you comp is running slower than usual theres a good chance its just spyware and adware. Download adaware se from www.lavasoftusa.com its free and it rocks. Check your startup items and dont use IE use mozilla firefox. Make sure your comp is secure with a firewall (i suggest kerio personal firewall), make sure all the drivers dont have updates, perform windows updates. That is if its running slower than usual.
__________________
-Download wead antivirus today using your brain!-
wead is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Ok you all seem to agree on a new HDD, so what would be the advantage of a new one on my system?

Andrew Minckley
AndyMinx is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 11:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

fit more games...lol
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 11:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

I only really play a couple of games so i dont really see a need thanks! lol
AndyMinx is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 11:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

definately a larger hard drive, as u might not find a 40GB available as a new hard drive.

and get wither ATi Radeon 9800 PRO 128MB version (not PRO with 256MB)

or, get 9800XT. (9800PRO with 256MB is slower than both 128MB in PRO and XT is of course faster.)

and BEST is to get some good manufacturer in motherboard. Asus A7N8X is award winning AMD Athlon Flagship, and I'll recommend it eyes shut.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 11:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

If you're going to get a new HDD, then make sure to get a SATA HDD. They're faster than regular PATA HDDs. Also, get a HDD that has a decent size cache, 8MB is usually good.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.