upgrading my pc: any suggestions? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2005, 06:48 PM   #31 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

I would go with the OCZ Powerstream 520w. It is more than you will need, but it is one of the best 520w PSUs out there if not the best.

By spending more on a PSU now, it may still be able to handle a future GPU upgrade. Buying these cheap PSUs are always a bad idea, especially those case PSUs.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 07:55 PM   #32 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to willjoe325
Default

It's a little expensive, although I think that I should get it.

I was looking at the DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D motherboard. Has anyone heard anything about this mobo?

thanks.
__________________

willjoe325 is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 08:34 PM   #33 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

If it's too expensive, look into the OCZ Modstream 520w. It's a downgraded version, but it's still of amazing quality. It also has a good method of reducing excess cables inside the case.

DFI has those good boards for overclocking, but only if you know how to overclock. If you don't want to get into that territory, I would strongly suggest the motherboard I got. The MSI K8N Neo Platinum nForce4 is very reliable. Although its overclocking abilities aren't at top par compared to DFI, its overclocking is very easy to do. There is an SLI version also available.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 12:54 AM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to willjoe325
Default

Thanks for all of the help Calzinger.

My upgrades will consist of:
eVGA 6600 GT
MSI motherboard
Power Supply
AMD 64 3200+ Venice

Does this look like a good computer that would be able to run Battlefield 2 well? Does anyone have any suggestions?

thanks.
willjoe325 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 01:55 AM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

get a dfi ultra-d mobo instead, oc's better than the msi. also, make sure you get a 6600gt, the one you picked is a regular 6600, which isn't nearly as good as a 6600gt. get a evga or leadtek 6600gt and make sure you get it in pci-e
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 04:44 AM   #36 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jnev_89
get a dfi ultra-d mobo instead, oc's better than the msi.
Yeah, that is assuming you know what your doing. The DFI boards are for extreme overclockers that know how. If you haven't have a clue what to do, you may end up destroying your hardware.

I would still insist on the MSI. It doesn't overclock incredibly far compared to the DFI, but it is a very user-friendly board where everything is simply made easy for you. You won't have difficulty doing anything with it.

@willjoe325
You could definitely run BF2 with that. I'm not sure how fast though. I have eVGA"s 6800 GT, and I can run 64 bots in single player. Note that that is 48 bots over the game's accepted stable limit, and I don't even notice the game decreasing in performance. A 6600 GT obviously will not get that degree of performance, but from what I hear, the 6600 GT is an extremely good value card. You may want to read reviews and see the difference in benchmarks between the two.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 05:18 AM   #37 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 35
Default

All of those parts, with the 6600 replaced with a 6600gt exceeds ur 500 dollar budget by approx $100

I think that your current psu would probably be enough to support what u r planning on running. I run a 3200+ and a 6600gt on a 380W PSU
mcslave is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 07:57 AM   #38 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Those specs would be able to run BF2 at a good mix of medium and high settings with a resolution of your choice.

I know someone who has the same setup except his graphics card is an ATI All-in-wonder 9800 pro (which is worse than the 6600gt) and he can do the settings I said above...the game looks beautiful with them too, btw. He has very little trouble with 64 players (online) the framerate drops are usually (if any) very small and rare occurances.

Personally, your setup is very good, imo, me being one of the people who doesn't want to bust their wallet either... I would still reccomend, as others had to make sure you have at least a gig of RAM, whether that means buying 512mb or a whole gig for you, i don't know. But, without the gig of RAM you may, or probably will not be able to run BF2 as I described earlier. I don't really know where BF2 came into this thread anyway, but I am just using it as an example.

Good luck with your system, I'd like to hear how it works out!

-RapIsHorrid
Rapishorrid is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 03:21 PM   #39 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to willjoe325
Default

I was meaning to link to a 6600 GT

Thanks for all of the help. I will inform you how it runs after I buy it.

thanks.
willjoe325 is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:02 AM   #40 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Cool, I am sure you'll enjoy your system!

No more lag for you my friend....
__________________

Rapishorrid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.